Your Coffee is ready.

Strength in Depth Is Underway in London

 
Morning Chalk Up

June 10   |   POWERED BY

2POOD_1653437121 (1)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up. The final week of semifinals is upon us, Strength in Depth has kicked off already and the Atlas Games and Copa Sur are set to kick off shortly.

In today’s edition:

  • Strength in Depth is underway in London and we’ve got you covered
  • A look at the full scope of semifinal programming for the CrossFit Games
  • Diving into CrossFit’s move to rehire Dave Castro
  • Atlas Games is here and we have a full breakdown of the first day
  • Brazil’s Copa Sur preview and picks
 
QUOTE OF THE DAY + Send us a Quote

“Life is a long lesson in humility.” - James M. Barrie

 
CROSSFIT STRENGTH IN DEPTH
   

Credit: Instagram @lifeofjosii

The competition has kicked off at Strength in Depth in London, England. Full details are included below: 

  • On the women’s side at the ExCel Centre, keep an eye on Katrin Davidsdottir and Emma McQuaid to punch their tickets, and watch as Jacqueline Dahlstrom and Thuri Helgadottir duke it out. With Emma Tall withdrawing, there is a very real chance that Sam Briggs could secure her tenth Games trip this weekend.
  • For the men, Jonne Koski will likely card a solid performance along with Willy Georges. Andre Houdet, Henrik Haapalainen and Giorgios Karavis will all be in the hunt as well.
  • CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue is the clear favorite in the team competition, but we are interested in seeing how CrossFit Nordic Original handles the event given the controversy with team member Viktor Langveds’ eligibility over the past several weeks.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 7:00 AM PT, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of the quarterfinals.

  1. Willy Georges | Emma McQuaid | CrossFit Aylesbury Team Tap
  2. Jonne Koski | Jacqueline Dahmstrom | CrossFit Surbiton Motion Training
  3. Alex Kotoulas | Solveig Sigurdardottir | CrossFit 8020
  4. Guillaume Briant | Marie Robin | Aarhus CrossFit
  5. André Houdet | Tayla Howe | CrossFit Katla
  6. Henrik Haapalainen | Thuri Helgadottir | CrossFit Witham
  7. PD Savage | Matilda Spanou | CrossFit Nordic Original
  8. Tommaso Pieri | Aoife Burke | CrossFit Oslo Underdogs
  9. Elliot Simmonds | Katrin Davidsdottir | CrossFit Sarpsborg
  10. Dumain Antoine | Emelie Lundberg | CrossFit Mayflower

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 7:00 AM PT | 10:00 AM ET  | 3:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 1 — 8:06 AM PT | 11:06 AM ET | 4:06 PM BST
  • Team Event 2 — 10:26 AM PT | 1:26 PM ET |  6:26 PM BST
  • Individual Event 2 — 11:12 AM PT | 2:12 PM ET | 7:12 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • For time:
    MF Pair 1
    2000m Run (Assault Runner)*
    1200m Row
    300 Double Unders

    MF Pair 2
    2000m Run (Assault Runner)
    1200m Row
    300 Double Unders

    *Advance to Row Triggers MF2

    Time cap: 25 minutes

Individual Event 1

  • For time:
    1000m Run (Assault Runner)
    2000m Row
    300 Double Unders
    1000m Run (Assault Runner)

    Time cap: Men 26 minutes, Women 28 minutes

Team Event 2

  • Pair 1
    80ft Handstand Walk (both athletes*)
    6 Rounds, You Go, I Go (3x Each):
    6 Ring Muscle-Ups
    160ft Husafell Carry 75/50kg
    80ft Handstand Walk (both athletes*)

    Pair 2
    80ft Handstand Walk (both athletes*)
    4 Rounds, You Go, I Go (2x Each):
    12 Ring Muscle-Ups
    160ft Husafell Carry 75/50kg
    80ft Handstand Walk (both athletes*)

    *Increments are completed in minimum distances of 20ft

    Time cap: 15 minutes

Individual Event 2

  • 3 Rounds for time:
    12 Ring Muscle-Ups
    30 Alternating Single-Legged Squats
    9 Hang Power Snatches 70/48kg

    Time cap: 12 Minutes

 
SPONSORED 2POOD_1653437121 (1)
Now Available:

Now Available: "Rock On" Weightlifting Belt by Anikha Greer

2POOD Weightlifting Belts are made by athletes, for athletes. Here’s why Anikha loves 2POOD Weightlifting Belts:

  • The WODClamp ensures your belt won’t pop during a PR
  • Constructed with durable, long-lasting, quality velcro
  • Easy to get on and off in high intensity workouts
  • Her signature black marbled, “Rock On” belt is legendary

NEW: Get 15% off Anikha’s New Rock On Weightlifting Belt when you use code “CHALKUP15” at checkout.

SHOP THE ANIKHA GREER SIGNATURE WEIGHTLIFTING BELT.

 
SPEED READS

Breaking news update: CrossFit interim leader Alison Andreozzi has commented on Dave Castro returning to work for CrossFit.

In case you missed it: Lauren Kalil, the host of The Bottom Line, spoke to our analysts Tommy Marquez, Brian Friend and Patrick Clark about who they think will qualify for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games from Copa Sur.

So cool: Check out this video of Emma Cary from age 10 to 18 doing CrossFit: “Thank you CrossFit for teaching me to believe in myself, give my best effort to everything I do, and fight my hardest for what I want most.” 😍

Can you tell he’s excited?: Kuwait’s Nasser Alruwayeh is heading to the CrossFit Games after an exceptional performance at the Far East Throwdown.

Southern Style CrossFit: Great local newspaper piece on Misty Thomas, who was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis at the age of 31, and has now opened her own box in Addison.

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
  A Complete Look at Semifinals Programming for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games 

MEMBER EXCLUSIVE

A Complete Look at Semifinals Programming for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games

This is the fourth in a series of articles laying out some of the variability in Semifinal programming, if you haven’t seen the others they can be found here:

With the fourth and final week of Semifinals upon us, we now have all the information about the 40 independently programmed individual Semifinal workouts this season. We’ll go through in the same order we have been, and see what overall patterns or outliers emerge.

Time Domains: 

As always, the time domains for the events that already happened have been adjusted to reflect the time it actually took on average and with rounding for the top ten athletes (men/women when different) to complete the work. For week four we are approximating that number for now:

Continue Reading...
 
CROSSFIT GAMES
  A Complete Look at Semifinals Programming for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games 

VIDEO: How Dave Castro’s Return Impacts CrossFit

Watch Now...
 
CROSSFIT ATLAS GAMES
  A Complete Look at Semifinals Programming for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games 

Credit: Instagram @samberiault_visuals

In just a couple of hours, the CrossFit Atlas Games kicks off in Quebec, Montreal. Full details are included below:

  • On the men’s side, we are expecting solid performances out of both Patrick Vellner and Jeffrey Adler. Both should secure their tickets to the Games. There are other Games veterans to keep an eye on, including Alexandre Caron and Alex Vigneault, and some others with Games hopes in Cedric Lapointe and Jack Farlow.
  • For the women, four athletes have Games experience, including Dani Horan, Carolyne Prevost, Caroline Connors and Erin Vandendriessche, while teen Emma Lawson is foregoing her final year of eligibility in that division for a chance at the Games as an individual.
  • The most notable teams competing in Montreal are Pro1 Montreal, CrossFit PSC and CrossFit Le Repere Progfal.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition doesn’t starts at 11:25 AM PT, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of the quarterfinals.

  1. Jeffrey Adler | Emma Lawson | CrossFit PSC
  2. Patrick Vellner | Freya Moosbrugger | CrossFit Le Repere Progfal
  3. Jack Farlow | Paige Powers | CrossFit Omnia Black
  4. Cédric Lapointe | Caroline Conners | CrossFit Pro1 Montreal
  5. Alexandre Caron | Erin Vandendriessche | CrossFit Taranis Lifetree
  6. Peter Mason | Carolyne Prevost | CrossFit Milford Team Conquer
  7. Dylan Pettit | Hattie Kanyo | Tenskills CrossFit
  8. Alex Vigneault | Callista Lang | CrossFit Resurrection
  9. Austin Spencer | Amy Morton | CrossFit 1855
  10. Nycolas Joyal | Mirakim Couvrette | Crossfit East Woodbridge

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 11:25 AM PT | 2:25 PM GMT-4 | 7:25 PM BST
  • Individual Event 1 — 12:20 PM PT | 3:20 PM GMT-4  | 8:20 PM BST
  • Team Event 2 — 2:25 PM PT | 5:25 PM GMT-4  | 10:25 PM BST
  • Individual Event 2 — 3:35 PM PT | 6:35 PM GMT-4  | 11:35 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • For time:MF 1
    3 Rounds:
    15 Synchro Strict HSPU
    5 Synchro Front Squat 265/155lbImmediately followed by:MF 2
    3 Rounds:
    15 Synchro Strict HSPU
    5 Synchro Front Squat 265/155lb
    Time cap: 12 minutes

Individual Event 1

  • 3 rounds for time:21/16 Cal Ski Erg
    15 Parallette HSPU 12/8″
    90ft Front Rack Walking Lunge 175/115lb
    Time cap: 14 minutes

Team Event 2

  • For time:50 Syncro WallBalls (MF1) 30/20lb, 10ft
    50 Syncro GHD (MF2)
    When pairs are done, they switch.
    Then:
    50 Syncro Pistols (MF1)
    50 Syncro TTB (MF2)
    When pairs are done, they switch.
    Then:
    50 Hang Cleans 225lb
    50 Hang Cleans 155lb
    Waterfall fashion
    Then:
    25/25 Cals bike MM (bike 1)
    20/20 Cals bike FF (bike 2)
    Time cap: 20 minutes

Individual Event 2

  • 4 rounds for time:24 T2B
    12 Sandbag Clean Over the Shoulder 150/100lb
    Time cap: 10 minutes
 
CROSSFIT COPA SUR
  A Complete Look at Semifinals Programming for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games 

Photo Credit: Instagram @wodshots

The CrossFit Copa Sur is off and running in its inaugural year in Vitoria, Brazil. Full details are included below: 

  • On the men’s side, all eyes will be on Gui Malheiros as he takes on his sophomore season as a Games individual (although he has a long career as a teen Games athlete). Don’t sleep on Augustin Richelme or Omar Martinez though.
  • For the women, look for Melina Rodriguez to take the top spot.
  • In the team competition, keep an eye on CrossFit Q21, Kingbull CrossFit Paraguay and BXP CrossFit Team BXP.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition has already kicked off in Brazil, but if you haven’t tuned in yet, here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of the quarterfinals.

  1. Guilherme Malheiros | Melina Rodriguez | Q21 CrossFit
  2. Agustin Richelme | Luiza Marques | Kingbull CrossFit Paraguay
  3. Nicolas Bidarte | Julia Kato | BXP CrossFit Team BXP
  4. Kaique Cerveny | Victoria Campos | CrossFit SP
  5. Anderon Primo | Valentina Rangel | CrossFit Tavros Tavros Team
  6. Omar Martinez | Thais Nunes | CrossFit Ribeirao Preto
  7. Santiago Comba | Andreia Pinheiro | Vittoria CrossFit Morereps
  8. Guilherme Domingues | Laura Gonzalez-Marin | CrossFit Villa Luro
  9. Maximiliano Arigossi | Amanda Fusuma | CrossFit Tuluka
  10. Juan Manuel Seitun | Alexia Williams | CrossFit Tyranno

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 8:30 AM GMT-3  | 4:30 AM PT | 9:30 AM BST
  • Individual Event 1 — 9:24 AM GMT-3 | 5:24 AM PT | 10:24 AM BST
  • Team Event 2 — 11:15 AM GMT-3 | 7:15 AM PT | 12:15 PM BST
  • Individual Event 2 — 12:50 PM GMT-3 | 8:50 AM PT | 1:50 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • 21-15-9 for time:
    Deadlifts, 310kg
    Synchro Handstand Push-Ups
    Time cap: 9 minutes

Individual Event 1

  • For time:
    50 Wall Ball Shots 30/20lb
    50 Chest-to-Bar Pull-Ups
    C2 Bike Cals 50/35
    100 Double-Unders
    50 Deadlifts 90/60kg
    Time cap: 12 minutes

Team Event 2

  • For time:
    1000m Run
    500m Swim with Paddleboard
    1000m Run
    Time cap: 40 minutes

Individual Event 2

  • For time:
    2000m Run
    500m Swim
    2000m Run
    Time cap: 40 minutes

 
LIFESTYLE
  14 Gift Ideas for CrossFit Dads This Father's Day 

14 Gift Ideas for CrossFit Dads This Father's Day

Father’s Day is just around the corner, so it’s time to make your gift selection for the fit dad in your life. Whether it’s new shorts, equipment, or some game-changing workout accessories, we have it covered.

Read on for 14 gifts that we’re buying for ourselves our dads.

Continue Reading...
 
THINGS TO...
 

...TRY

The Reverse Plank

Need something new to add to your accessory work? This plank variation works your posterior chain in the same way that a traditional plank works your core. And it kinda looks like you're taking a rest, which sounds great post-workout as well.

ADVANCED LYING DOWN.
   

SPONSORED

...TRY

Beam's New Limited Edition Sea Salt Caramel Dream Powder

Beam’s new Sea Salt Caramel Dream Powder is packed with zzz-promoting ingredients, like nano CBD, reishi, magnesium, l-theanine, and melatonin. Let swirls of caramel satisfy your sweet tooth and help you fall asleep, stay asleep, and wake up refreshed with only 15 calories and no added sugar. Like summer, this flavor won’t last.

MCU EXCLUSIVE: UP TO 35% OFF WITH CODE "MCU".
   
 

...MAKE

The Ultimate One-Pan Breakfast Potatoes

The weekend is almost here, and if you're planning a lazy brunch to catch up on the final Semifinal results. We have the recipe for you. These breakfast potatoes, with bell peppers, are the perfect accompaniment to eggs for a hearty (and delicious) meal.

MOST IMPORTANT MEAL OF THE DAY.
   
 

...SNAG

A Free WHOOP Strap 4.0 and Extra Month's Membership

WHOOP measures your body's data over 100 times a second to provide personalized feedback on your recovery, strain, and sleep. Morning Chalk Up readers can get a free strap and an extra month's membership when you sign up at the link below.

START TRACKING NOW.
   
 

...KNOW

Does Melatonin Actually Help You Sleep Better?

Melatonin is a very popular and widely used sleep supplement, but how much does it actually benefit your sleep? Check out this breakdown of melatonin, how it works, when to take it, and its potential side effects.

YOU ARE VERY SLEEPY.
 
JOB BOARD Jobs from Gym Jobs
 

Port CrossFit | Part Time CrossFit Coach - Port CrossFit, North Bicycle Path, Port Jefferson Station, NY

Port CrossFit | Full Time CrossFit Coach - Port CrossFit, North Bicycle Path, Port Jefferson Station, NY

CrossFit Barbending | CrossFit Level 1 Trainer or Higher - 3 Joanna Court, East Brunswick, NJ

Ballston CrossFit | General Manager and CrossFit Coach Arlington VA - 1110 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA

Crossfit North Industry | Crossfit Coach - 11948 Farmington Road, Livonia, MI

Crossfit South Surrey | Crossfit level 1 - 15292 Croydon Drive #111, Surrey, BC, Canada

Arrival Fitness | CrossFit Coach - Newark, NJ

Arrival Fitness | General Manager - Newark, NJ

Urban Athletic Club | Head Coach | CrossFit / Functional Fitness - 804 N Street Northwest, Washington, DC

District Athletic Club | Front End Shift Supervisor & Subject Matter Expert - District Athletic Club, James Street, New Haven, CT

Hammer CrossFit | CrossFit Coach - Hammer CrossFit South, East Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ

Everlasting Fitness | Registered Dietitian - Everlasting Fitness, Governor Court, Abingdon, MD

3Q Fitness | CrossFit Coach - 109 S 6th St, Garland, TX

MROC Training | NEW POSITIONS available at Obstacle Course Gym - Oceanside, CA

CrossFit Barbending | CrossFit Level 1 Trainer or Higher - 3 Joanna Court, East Brunswick, NJ

Contender CrossFit Padre Island | CrossFit Coach (CFL2 Preferred) - Contender CrossFit Padre Island, South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX

Crossfit Fondren | Head Coach/GM CrossFit Fondren Jackson MS - Jackson, MS

Southern Fitness and Martial Arts Centre | Fitness Centre Manager - 78 Meroo Street, Bomaderry NSW 2541, Australia

Bear Mountain Strength and Fitness | CrossFit Coach - 2050 E Main St, Cortlandt, Cortlandt Manor, NY

Crossfit Fondren | Head Coach/GM CrossFit Fondren Jackson MS - Jackson, MS

CrossFit Leixlip | Fitness Coach (Part Time) - CrossFit Leixlip - CrossFit Leixlip, Mill Lane, St. Catherine's Park, Leixlip, County Kildare, Ireland

Rogue Fitness | HR Generalist - Columbus, OH

The V: Premier Group Fitness | CrossFit Trainer NEEDED!!! - Powder Springs, GA

Find A Job   |  Post Your Resume

 
HIGHLIGHTS

Celebrating a PR, hosting a fundraiser, this, that, or otherwise. Send us a tip.

  • Congratulations Morgan Porter from CrossFit Wildwood in Wildwood, MO on adding 90 pounds to her previous CrossFit Total with a sum of 735 pounds/333kg.
  • Games veteran Ben Smith re-tested “Regionals Nate” and beat his 2016 time by more than two minutes. #crossfitworks
  • Dan Bailey is on the road to a 600 pound/272kg deadlift.
  • Mattie Rogers shows her back squat progress from 2020 to 2022 with a new 419 pounds/190kg PR.
  • And lastly, a “not-highlight” from 2022 Games qualifier Noah Ohlsen. #relatable

CrossFit Des Moines in Urbandale, IA is hosting a WOD for Landon fundraiser on Saturday, June 18. Gym member Landon Beck was in a serious motor vehicle accident that has left him in the ICU with a severe traumatic brain injury.

 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
12/9 - 12/11: Fall Series Throwdown (Desio, Italy)
12/17: The Midwest Championship (Warrensburg, MO)
1/15 - 1/31: Athens Throwdown Qualifiers (Athens, Greece)
1/21 - 1/22: Modena Challenge: Beginner and Master (Modena, Italy)
2/4 - 2/5: Modena Challenge: Intermediate and Rx (Modena, Italy)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.