Who’s Competing at the 2023 Dubai Fitness Championship

November 26, 2023 by
Photo Credit: Darcey Beau
Enjoying Morning Chalk Up? Access additional exclusive interviews, analyses, and stories with an Rx membership.

While the roster is continuing to trickle out, we are getting a more finalized view of the upcoming invite-only Dubai Fitness Championship, set to kick off in Dubai, UAE, from December 8th through the 10th. 

Remind me: Since its first annual competition held in 2012, the Dubai Fitness Championship has crowned winners like Annie Thorisdottir, Mat Fraser, Sam Briggs, Sara Sigmundsdottir, Brent Fikowski and in 2022, Fabian Beneito and Karin Frey walked away champions. 

As the event edges closer, more information has been teased, including five of the events, a snapshot of the payouts and as of Monday, December 4th, a complete roster. In the coming weeks, we look forward to rounding out our collected data and preparing ourselves for another spectacular off-season event. 

Current Men’s Roster 

  1. Ricky Garard
  2. Jonne Koski
  3. Alex Kotoulas
  4. Reggie Fasa
  5. Lazar Djukic
  6. Luka Djukic
  7. Javier Gonzalez
  8. Guillaume Briant
  9. Giorgios Karavis
  10. Moritz Fiebig
  11. David Shorunke
  12. Bronislaw Olenkowicz
  13. Roman Khrennikov
  14. Ant Haynes
  15. Elliot Simmonds
  16. Luka Djukic
  17. Aniol Ekai
  18. Simon Mantyla
  19. Fabian Beneito Selles
  20. Chandler Smith
  21. Jorge Fernandez
  22. Kaique Cerveny
  23. Daniel Tai
  24. Griffin Roelle
  25. Kalyan Ribeiro De Souza
  26. Kristof Horvath
  27. Martin Cuervo
  28. Michael Smith
  29. Toby Buckland
  30. Uldis Upenieks

Current Women’s Roster

  1. Karin Frey
  2. Manon Angonese
  3. Hanna Karlsson
  4. Tayla Howe
  5. Andrea Solberg
  6. Claudia Gluck
  7. Emily Rolfe
  8. Seher Kaya
  9. Lauren Fisher
  10. Shahed Budebs
  11. Emma Tall
  12. Jacqueline Dahlstrom
  13. Brittany Weiss
  14. Mia Hesketh
  15. Alexia Williams
  16. Elena Carratala
  17. Camilla Salomonsson Hellman
  18. Evie Hollis
  19. Allison Nguyen
  20. Silvia Garcia
  21. Dana Paran
  22. Devyn Kim
  23. Elisa Fuliano
  24. Maddy Harris
  25. Ingrid Hodnemyr
  26. Julia Kato
  27. Kyra Milligan
  28. Luiza Marques
  29. Noortje Bleeker
  30. Veslemoy Kollstad


We know there will be an off-site event on December 8th, the first day of competition. Details for that event have not yet been announced. December 9th and 10th will be held in the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium and will host workouts involving legless rope climbs, heavy double unders, power cleans, toes to bar, max lifts and more. For event 6, A-Frame Jumps return to the programming, and the omission of what specific “machine” will be used for the calories leaves us wondering what mystery awaits the athletes.  

The Dubai Fitness Championship has a reputation for very unique programming in past years, including an indoor snow hill run, “flying push-ups,” and reverse grip chest-to-bar. It seems that Dubai, more than any competition, forces athletes to adapt on the fly, and this year should be no exception. 


The top six payouts were just recently posted on social media, as well as the payouts for event winners. Additionally, it was mentioned that everyone in the competition will walk away with a minimum of $500. 

  • 1st place overall: $50,000
  • 2nd place overall: $30,000
  • 3rd place overall: $20,000
  • 4th place overall: $10,000
  • 5th place overall: $5,000
  • 6th place overall: $2,000

For event wins, first place will take home $2,000, second place will take home $1,500, and third place will walk away with $1,000. 

The bottom line: With just weeks until the event, we anxiously await the rest of the details, as Dubai Fitness Championship is set to be three days full of elite competition and challenging workouts. As the roster continues to update we will update ours here as well.

Get the Newsletter

For a daily digest of all things CrossFit. Community, Competitions, Athletes, Tips, Recipes, Deals and more.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.