How Nutrition Advice Can Land You a Huge Fine
Heather Kokesch Del Castillo was a successful California-based health coach and CrossFit coach. Then she moved from from the Golden State to the Sunshine State where they do things a tad bit different.
In Florida, it’s 100% illegal for anyone other than a licensed dietitian to provide nutritional advice for money.
In Castillo’s case, Florida health officials conducted an undercover sting operation. Ya know the kind where an official posed as a potential client seeking health coaching. Yeah, that kind. Well she was caught operating without a license, assessed a $750 fine and forced to close her business.
OK, that sounds like overkill but is requiring a license such a bad thing?
On it’s face, no. You expect your CrossFit coach to actually know what she’s talking about — hence that L1 — so should you with your dietician.
But in order to obtain a license in Florida, you have to receive a bachelor’s degree in dietetics, complete a 900 hour supervised residency, pass an exam and pay some other fees.
Let that sink in. In order to lead a paid for nutrition seminar at your CrossFit affiliate you need to have all of the above, otherwise face a fine. This is just in Florida, but hopefully you get the point.
In case anyone thinks we’re bashing registered dietitians, we are definitely not. We’re merely pointing out the “pay to play” system Florida has setup which says your CrossFit coach who “knows their stuff” has to go back to school for another four years before she can give you advice about what to buy at the grocery store.