The Running List of Sanctional Superstars

January 15, 2020 by
Photo Credit: Dubai CrossFit Championship
Enjoying Morning Chalk Up? Help to ensure that we can continue to be an independent voice for the community and sport we love by supporting our journalism today.

We’re only about one-fourth of the way through the second CrossFit Games season in the new Sanctional format, but already there are a few front-runners developing for Sanctional record holders. We’ve been keeping close tabs on who’s winning and here’s the all-time list of athletes who have won more than one event.

  1. Tia-Clair Toomey — 3
  2. Sara Sigmundsdottir — 3
  3. Mathew Fraser — 2
  4. Samantha Briggs — 2
  5. Brent Fikowski — 2
  6. Jacqueline Dahlstrom — 2

A couple of big things: 

  • This list is going to start growing and shifting a lot. Every athlete except for Dahlstrom has at least a pair of Sanctionals still on their schedule with another repeat showdown between Toomey and Sigmundsdottir at the Rogue Invitational.
  • While Sigmundsdottir was the first athlete to win three Sanctionals, Toomey has a perfect record going three for three; Sigmundsdottir has won three of six.
  • The last time Toomey lost a live competition — not the Open — was the 2017 Regionals.
  • Mat Fraser’s streak extends back all the way back to the 2015 CrossFit Games. So essentially for half the last decade, Fraser hasn’t lost a live competition.

Get the Newsletter

For a daily digest of all things CrossFit. Community, Competitions, Athletes, Tips, Recipes, Deals and more.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.