Say what?

The fourth fittest woman on Earth, Kara Saunders, announced will be be joining the party tonight for the live 19.2 announcement show going down under at CrossFit FX just south of Sydney.

And yes, in her third trimester and on her first wedding anniversary, she’s going to be throwing down under the same lights as James Newbury, Maddie Sturt, Justin Beath and Ben Garard.

“Tune in to see me either scale or modify accordingly,” Saunders wrote on Instagram. “As much as I’m capable of some pretty cool stuff still, there’s a time for that and that’s not now.”

The live broadcast starts at 4:30 PM PT // 7:30 PMET // 12:30 AM GMT // 10:30 AM AEST (Friday).

That’s so cool. 

It is cool. In past years, CrossFit HQ has invited scaled athletes from the community to participate in live Open announcements. The Open is a true community event where athletes of all levels can participate. 

By welcoming Saunders as the first pregnant athlete to be on a live announcement, it’s a great opportunity to further that all-inclusive message and highlight ways pregnant and postpartum athletes are still able to do the Open. The 19.1 live broadcast in London last week garnered more than 450K views. Saunders presence will likely be a draw for viewers tonight. 

Similar to other CrossFit Games athletes, Saunders has continued to CrossFit throughout her pregnancy, sharing her journey and progress on Instagram. 


CrossFit Open

Get The Morning Chalk Up

For a daily Digest of all things CrossFit. Community, Athletes, Tips, Recipes, Deals and more.

Limited Tees & Tanks

Get Some.