Dubai CrossFit Championship Day 3 Preview

Dec 13, 2018 by

Good morning from Dubai.

The first event of Day 3 kicked off in a few hours. You can watch the livestream on YouTube and we’ve put all the events and schedule together so you can follow along.

Here is the schedule for today:

— Individual Event 4: Max Snatch (1:00 – 2:11 PM GMT+4/Fri. 1:00 – 2:11 AM Pacific)

— Team Event 4: Max Snatch (1:32 PM – 2:19 PM GMT+4/1:32 AM – 2:19 AM Pacific)

— Individual Event 5: Under Pressure (3:00 -4:41 PM GMT+4/Fri. 3:00 – 4:41 AM Pacific)

— Team Event 5: Under Pressure (4:54 PM GMT+4/4:54 AM Pacific)

— Individual Event 6: Acid Bath (5:45 – 6:59 PM GMT+4/Fri. 5:45 – 6:59 AM Pacific)

— Team Event 6: Acid Bath (7:15 PM GMT+4/7:15 AM Pacific)

What to keep an eye on

The leaderboard. This is a 10 event competition. With three events already completed, 700 points are still up for grabs. Remember, second place might get you a nice paycheck but only the winner gets a ticket to the CrossFit Games.

— On the men’s side, only 12 points separate first place Willy Georges and sixth place Matt McLeod — that’s basically the difference between placing first and fourth in an event. There will be a lot of moving today.

— The women’s leaderboard is firming up. Unlike the men, first place Sam Briggs is 61 points ahead of sixth place. Finishing anywhere in the top five will only continue to widen that gap.

The Scoring System. Dubai’s scoring system is much different than the CrossFit Games. In Dubai, there’s only a 33 point difference between placing first (100 points) and 10th (77 points). At the CrossFit Games, the differential is 40 points. Last place finishers at Dubai are awarded 33 points, whereas at the Games it’s only 4. This may not seem like a big deal but here’s why it matters: because the point spread is smaller there’s less punishment for athletes at the top who perform poorly. It also means less opportunities for trailing athletes to catch up.

Beware the DNF. A total of four athletes failed to meet the minimum work requirement on Event 1, which resulted in zero points instead of 34 points for last place. Event 5 is a dangerous combination of heavy yoke carry and deficit parallette handstand push-ups into box jumps and muscle-ups. Athletes must avoid failing to meet the minimum work requirement (20m Yoke carry + 15 parallette handstand push-ups + 1 Round) at all costs. A score of 0 will all but put an athlete out of contention to win.


, ,

Dubai CrossFit Championship

Sam Briggs | Matt McLeod | Willy Georges



Get The Newsletter

For a daily Digest of all things CrossFit. Community, Athletes, Tips, Recipes, Deals and more.