CrossFit Games

These Individuals Will Receive Invitations To The 2020 CrossFit Games

May 9, 2020 by
Courtesy of
Enjoying Morning Chalk Up? Access additional exclusive interviews, analyses, and stories with an Rx membership.

The CrossFit Games team dropped a huge announcement Saturday that the individual invites to the Games in 2020 will reset, and a new protocol will be followed to invite 30 men and 30 women to the finals in Aromas. The top 20 men and women worldwide in the 2020 CrossFit Games Open will receive invitations along with the ten sanctional champions from the events that have concluded so far.

Invites will backfill if an athlete declines, or if one of the Sanctional champions has already qualified through the Open or received an invite through another Sanctional. Travel restrictions for athletes currently outside the United States could also drastically alter who shows up to the Games (presuming they actually happen). This process means that the athletes who will receive the first round of invitations to Aromas have changed. Below we have compiled the full list of men and women who get first crack to head to the birthplace of the CrossFit Games this summer.

Women — The Open

  1. Sara Sigmundsdottir
  2. Annie Thorisdottir – decline, pregnancy
  3. Kristin Holte
  4. Tia-Clair Toomey
  5. Jamie Simmonds (Greene)
  6. Kari Pearce
  7. Emma McQuaid
  8. Carol-Ann Reason-Thibault
  9. Karin Freyova
  10. Laura Horvath
  11. Brooke Wells
  12. Kara Saunders
  13. Camilla Salomonsson Hellman
  14. Kristi Eramo O’Connell
  15. Kendall Vincelette
  16. Andrea Nisler
  17. Gabriela Migala
  18. Dani Speegle
  19. Kristine Best
  20. Katelin Van Zyl
  21. Alanna Fisk Colon — ineligible, drug sanctions
  22. Brooke Haas

Things to note: Nisler and Haas both had an invitation on qualifying teams, and pending a potential team competition currently in development to be hosted by CrossFit Mayhem, both could potentially decline their individual invitations, leaving Katrin Davidsdottir and Amanda Barnhart next in line.

Women – Sanctionals (Original Invitees In Parenthesis)

  • Filthy 150 – Andrea Solberg
  • SouthFit – Bethany Shadburne
  • Pandaland – Harriet Roberts
  • Dubai – Sam Briggs
  • Mayhem – Danielle Brandon (Feeroozah Saghafi)
  • Strength in Depth – Haley Adams (Kelsey Kiel)
  • Norway – Sanna Venalainen
  • Wodapalooza – Amanda Barnhart (Emily Rolfe)
  • Australia – Mia Hesketh
  • Brazil – Melina Rodriguez (Cecilia Ramirez)

Things to note: As expected some invitations changed hands, but it’s entirely possible that Emily Rolfe ends up with the Wodapalooza invite once again. If Amanda Barnhart gets a backfill Open spot, then the Wodapalooza invite would drop five spots back into Rolfe’s hands.

Men – The Open

  1. Patrick Vellner
  2. Mathew Fraser
  3. Lefteris Theofanidis – ineligible, drug sanctions
  4. Bjorgvin Karl Gudmundsson
  5. Jeffrey Adler
  6. Noah Ohlsen
  7. Bayden Brown
  8. Jean-Simon Roy-Lemaire
  9. Tyler Christophel
  10. Roman Khrennikov
  11. Jonne Koski
  12. Samuel Cournoyer
  13. Brandon Luckett
  14. Travis Mayer
  15. Tim Paulson
  16. Samuel Kwant
  17. Scott Tetlow
  18. Jacob Heppner
  19. Cole Sager
  20. Rich Froning – decline
  21. Rogelio “Roy” Gamboa
  22. Chandler Smith

Things to note: Luckett and Gamboa have team invites as well, and could also decline depending on when the Mayhem team event happens. Roman Khrennikov’s visa issues could also open up another spot. Alexandre Caron, Elliot Simmonds, and Cedric Lapointe will be next up if that happens. Games veterans Ben Smith, Logan Collins, Sean Sweeney, and Willy George all miss out on spots due to the new process.

Men – Sanctionals

  • Filthy 150 – Justin Medeiros
  • SouthFit – Pete Shaw
  • Pandaland – Khan Porter
  • Dubai – Brent Fikowski (Tola Morakinyo)
  • Mayhem – Luke Schafer
  • Strength in Depth – David Shorunke
  • Norway – Griffin Roelle
  • Wodapalooza – Saxon Panchik
  • Australia – Jay Crouch
  • Brazil – Adam Davidson

Things to note: The men’s Sanctional invites remained largely unaffected outside of Morakinyo’s Dubai invite, which denies Aromas the chance to host arguably the strongest athlete in the field. Travel restrictions could be particularly brutal for Australia, where only two athletes in the field were from the United States, with Chad Kackert the highest finishing American in 9th place.

Get the Newsletter

For a daily digest of all things CrossFit. Community, Competitions, Athletes, Tips, Recipes, Deals and more.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.