Read the latest Morning Chalk Up articles on BarBend
Your Coffee is ready.

Brooke Wells Proves Elbow Injury in Past as She Leads MACC

 
Morning Chalk Up

May 28   |   POWERED BY

LIFEAID_1623945881 (3)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up semifinals edition. Day two of the CrossFit Fittest in Cape Town is underway and the second day of the Mid-Atlantic CrossFit Challenge is about to begin. Here’s what you need to know.

In today’s edition:

  • Brooke Wells has clearly recovered from her elbow injury as she leads MACC
  • Saxon Panchik is in the driver’s seat at MACC, 53 points ahead of twin brother Spencer
  • Takeaways from day one of the CrossFit Fittest in Cape Town

For a complete schedule in your local time zone, alerts, leaderboard and story download our iOS or Android app.

 
MID-ATLANTIC CROSSFIT CHALLENGE
   

Day 1 is done and dusted at the MACC and we are geared up for Day 2. Brooke Wells is in a three-way tie for first with Sydney Michalyshen and Shelby Neal. Former teen standout, Faith Ferguson and Danielle Brandon are currently in the other two Games spots. Mayhem Independence (the third of three Mayhem teams) takes a 10 point lead into Day 2 on the team side, while Saxon Panchick holds the lead for the men with Dallin Pepper hot on his heels.

How to catch up: 

  • Brooke Wells has clearly recovered from the elbow injury she sustained at last year’s Games, lifting heaving and leading the MACC on Day 1
  • Saxon Panchik used a killer second event win in Midline Sadness to secure top spot after the first day
  • Check out analyst Brian Friend’s key takeaways from the first day of competition and what he thinks may transpire over the next two days
  • Lauren Kalil also spoke to Friend and Dex Hopkins about their thoughts on day one of MACC

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here are the top ten individuals and teams after day 1 of competition. Check out the full leaderboard for the point spread, cutoffs and more efficiency stats.

  1. Saxon Panchik (184)  | Brooke Wells (176) | CrossFit Mayhem Independence (195)

  2. Dallin Pepper (180) | Sydney Michalyshen (176) | CrossFit Shoofly Storm Squadron (185)

  3. Nick Thomas (168) | Shelby Neal  (176) | Koda Crossfit Iron View Allegiance (175)

  4. Luis Oscar Mora (156) | Faith Ferguson (152) | CrossFit Kilo II (165)

  5. Cole Sager (156) | Danielle Brandon (148) | Kamo Athletics CrossFit (160)

  6. Tyler Christophel (152) | Kyra Milligan (136) | Koda Crossfit United (155)

  7. Logan Collins (132) | Baylee Rayl (136) | CrossFit Westchase Blue (130)

  8. Spencer Panchik (131) | Kelly Clark (136) | Decorum CrossFit The Ohio Brutes (120)

  9. Noah Ohlsen (126) | Mean O’Donnell (132) |  CrossFit Westchase Red (120)

  10. Jake Berman (123) | Taylor Reber (125) | AB CrossFit (120)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 6:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM ET | 2:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 7:05 AM PT | 10:05 AM ET | 3:05 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 9:06 AM PT | 12:06 PM ET | 5:06 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 10:01 AM PT | 1:01 PM ET | 6:01 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For time, starting with the female pair:40 thrusters, 95 lb
    6 legless rope climbs
    30 thrusters, 95 lb
    4 legless rope climbs
    20 thrusters, 95 lb
    2 legless rope climbs
    Immediately followed by the male pair (thrusters at 135lb).
    Time Cap: 20 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • 10 rounds for time:1 legless rope climb, 15’
    Run (170’)

Team Event 4

  • For Time as waterfall M/F/M/F
    True Form Runner (.7KM/.6KM) +
    10 Ring Muscle Ups
    HS Walk 45ft Unbroken
    10 C&J (205/145)
    HS Walk 45ft Unbroken
    Time Cap: 15 minutes

Individual Event 4

  • For Time:4 Rounds for Time:
    400m Trueform
    30 Wall Balls (20/14)
    20 C2B Pullups
    80’ Tank Push
    10 Sandbag to Shoulder (150/100)
    80’ Tank Push
    Time Cap: 25 minutes
 
SPONSORED LIFEAID_1623945881 (3)
Enter The FITAID Murph Giveaway

Enter The FITAID Murph Giveaway

Murph may be the one of the most gruelling workouts of the year.

But it’s also one of the most rewarding.

FITAID is providing a little extra motivation on that final run by sweetening the pot with a weight vest and two cases of FITAID for one lucky winner. To enter:

  • Record yourself doing Murph.
  • Post your attempt on Instagram.
  • Tag @FITAID in your post.
  • BONUS POINTS: Use the hashtag #FITAIDMURPH for some extra points.

You have from today till Tuesday 31st May to get your attempt uploaded and the rest of the week to recover…with some FITAID of course.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Credit: Patrick Clark

 
FITTEST IN CAPE TOWN
   

We are halfway through Day 2 at the Fittest in Cape Town (depending on when you are opening this) and things are starting to take shape. At the end of Day 1, Jason Smith and Michelle Merand were in the drivers’ seats for the men and women, while CrossFit Commit Okavango led for the teams.

  • Analyst Patrick Clark has the breakdown from Day 1 of the one semifinal in Africa which will qualify one male, one female and one team for the Games.
  • Morning Chalk Up’s Lauren Kalil talks with Zoe Schnetler about all of the major moments from the day

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here are the top ten individuals and teams after day 1 of competition. Day 2 is already underway with teams having completed the first event of the day. Check out the full leaderboard for the most up-to-date standings.

  1. Jason Smith (188) | Michelle Merand (184) | CrossFit Commit Okavango (190)

  2. Ruan Potgieter(184) | Michelle Basnett (180) | BST CrossFit (185)

  3. Devin Ramsden (176) | Christina Livaditakis (168) | CrossFit Tijger Valley Unit (185)

  4. Kealan Henry (172) | Mary Jamieson (164)  | CrossFit Firebolt (180)

  5. James Van Dongen (152) | Reegan Finkel (156) | CrossFit PBM (140)

  6. Darren Zurnamer (148)| Jessica Thomson (136) | Pack Life CrossFit (135)

  7. Robert Heuer (140) | Dina Swift (122) | Motley Crew CrossFit (130)

  8. Richard Smith (136) | Anneke Spies (120 | Against the Grain CrossFit (125)

  9. Estian Ferreira (130) | Lee Keyrouz (119) | Lions Bay CrossFit (115)

  10. Mohamed Elomda (124) | Ingy Hossam Eldin (117) | CrossFit IRA Howling Commandos (100)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 10:45 PM PT (Fri) | 1:45 AM ET | 7:45 AM GMT+2
  • Team Event 4  — 12:45 AM PT | 3:45 AM ET | 9:45 AM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 3 — 3:35 AM PT | 6:35 AM ET | 12:35 PM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 4 — 6:30 AM PT | 9:30 AM ET | 3:30 PM GMT+2

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For time, starting with the female pair:(Split anyhow as a pair)
    40 Thrusters
    6 Legless Rope Climbs
    30 Thrusters
    4 Legless Rope Climbs
    20 Thrusters
    2 Legless Rope Climbs
    Immediately followed by the male pair – using the same reps
    Women: 95 lbs/ 43 kg
    Men: 135 lbs/ 61 kg
    Time cap: 20 minutes

Team Event 4

  • Weight in lb.M: 185/195/205/215/225/235/245/255/265/275 (11th platform staged at 285)
    F: 135/140/145/150/155/160/165/170/175/180 (11th platform staged at 185)

Individual Event 3

  • For time:7 rounds of:
    7 Ring Muscle-Ups
    7 Bar Facing Burpees
    7 Deadlifts
    Women: 185 lbs/ 84 kg
    Men: 275 lbs/ 125 kg
    Time cap: 18 minutes

Individual Event 4

  • 3 attempts for maxload of:3 Cleans
    2 Front Squats
    1 Jerk (shoulder to overhead)
 
BY THE NUMBERS

By the Numbers

1 – Career Semifinal wins by Saxon Panchik after winning event 2, “Midline Sadness” on Friday. Last year’s Granite Games champion best event finish last year was third.

4 – Points separating first and second in both the men’s and women’s fields after Day 1 at Fittest in Cape Town

9 – Place Noah Ohlsen sits after two events at the Mid-Atlantic CrossFit Challenge, well out of a qualifying spot for the CrossFit Games.

53 – Points separating twin brothers Saxon and Spencer Panchik after day one of MACC.

935 – The amount of weight lifted by Mayhem Independence on day one, event one of the Mid-Atlantic CrossFit Challenge, equaling Mayhem Freedom.

2014 – Noah Ohlsen and Cole Sager have qualified for the CrossFit Games every year since this year. Both are competing at MACC this weekend.

 
Your Coffee is ready.