Your Coffee is ready.

Day One of the CrossFit Games is Here

 
Morning Chalk Up

August 3   |   POWERED BY

LIFEAID_1623945881 (8)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up. The 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games are here, and we will have you covered for everything and anything you need to know.

Note: The Morning Chalk Up will not be publishing the newsletter August 8-12, as we will be taking some much needed R&R, but we’ll be back in action the following week, so don’t go anywhere.

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
   

Lay of the Land

In just a few short hours, individuals and teams kick off the 16th annual NOBULL CrossFit Games in Madison, WI. Over the next five days, there will be 13 individual events, 11 team events, and eight age group and adaptive events to crown the fittest athletes on earth.

Today, the individuals will tackle four events but there are 500 points up for grabs. More on that in a minute. Teams will also have four events. All known event details and a detailed schedule are below.

How Event 2 will be scored: Unlike a traditional CrossFit event that awards 100 points for the highest performance, event 2 is awarding 100 points for the fastest accumulated run time as well as for most jerks.

  • This isn’t the first time the CrossFit Games has scored different portions of an event. Two big examples are the 2013 half marathon row which scored the first 2K portion as well as the entire row, and Pendleton 1 in 2012 where the checkpoint 150m into the run was scored as well as the entire event.
  • Given how Event 2 is structured — three AMRAP intervals with running and max rep jerks — it’s a little unorthodox. Athletes won’t really know their cumulative run time compared to other athletes in their heat or across the field so it’s hard to know where to make-up time. Whereas, in a straight run, it’s pretty obvious, just beat the athlete out front and the 100 points is yours.

One big number: 38% of all individual points awarded at the Games will be doled out today. For teams, it’s 36%.

  • Translation: Wednesday is a huge day for setting the field going into Friday.
  • Another way to look at it, don’t dig yourself a hole today.

For the statisticians: 

How to stay in the know: 

  • Make sure to follow our live blog, which will be aggregating the top stories and news on the ground.
  • Set a reminder to watch our Day 1 recap with special guests James Hobart and Kari Pearce.
  • How to watch and schedule of events in your local time zone
  • Subscribe to our Instagram and YouTube.

Today’s top stories: A few stories to help kick off the games.

  • Roman Khrennikov spoke exclusively to the Morning Chalk Up about his journey to Madison and finally reuniting with his family right before the CrossFit Games.
  • Ricky Garard etched out some time out to answer 22 questions for Morning Chalk Up.
  • Abu Dhabi’s CrossFit Yas Black is the perfect representation of an international team.
  • CrossFit named Marine veteran Don Faul as the new CEO“At a time when global health trends are in decline, when people are starved for personal connection and community, CrossFit is more important than ever. I’ve experienced the impact of CrossFit firsthand, seeing how it helps people improve their fitness, reverse chronic disease, and build meaningful connections with other members of the CrossFit community.
  • These five CrossFit Games records could be broken this year.

One last thing: There have been cuts at the CrossFit Games in ten of 16 Games or 62.5% of the time. Here’s a breakdown by year.

 
SPONSORED LIFEAID_1623945881 (8)
Team FITAID: Primed for Performance

Team FITAID: Primed for Performance

Training Camp? Finished.

Final Preparations?: Completed.

Podium Finish? TBD.

It’s the first day of individual and team competitions and Team FITAID athletes Guilherme Malheiros, Kelsey Kiel, Jeffrey Adler, Emma Lawson, Gabriela Migala, Lucy Campbell, Nienke van Overveld, Jay Crouch, and Bayden Brown are ready to unleash their energy on the competition floor.

From everyone at FITAID, good luck during the competition and when the dust has settled, we’ll be around to crack open a cold can and celebrate with you.

Learn more about the whole team and how you can follow them, and maybe enter a few exclusive giveaways, during the Games week.

 
STATS

Leaderboards

The first event kicks off at 9:00 AM CT for individuals, with teams following at 11:00 AM. Each day, we will have the top athlete scores across all divisions detailed below. Only individuals and teams are competing today. This leaderboard will update throughout the competition.

Individuals and Teams

  1. Justin Medeiros – 0 | Tia-Clair Toomey – 0 | CrossFit Mayhem Freedom – 0
  2. Patrick Vellner – 0 | Laura Horvath – 0 | CrossFit Reykjavik – 0
  3. Roman Krennikov – 0 | Mallory O’Brien – 0 | CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue – 0
  4. Bjorgvin Karl Gudmundsson  – 0 | Haley Adams – 0 | CrossFit Tuluka – 0
  5. Brent Fikowski – 0 | Gabriela Migala – 0 | KT CrossFit – 0
  6. Saxon Panchik – 0 | Kara Saunders – 0 | CrossFit OBA – 0
  7. Lazar Dukic– 0 | EAmanda Barnhart– 0 | Kamo Athletics CrossFit – 0
  8. Dallin Pepper – 0 | Karin Freyova – 0 | CrossFit Zarautz – 0
  9. Jeffrey Adler – 0 | Kristi Eramo-O’Connell – 0 | CrossFit Westchase Red – 0
  10. Gui Malheiros – 0 | Danielle Brandon – 0 | CrossFit EXF – 0

Full leaderboard

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
   

Adrian Bozman on How He's Approaching Programming Events for the 2023 CrossFit Games

Morning Chalk Up’s Lauren Kalil and Patrick Clark sit down with Boz to talk about how he approached programming his first CrossFit Games.

  • “Well nothing in the Games happens in a vacuum. There’s nothing that’s like the product is one single person, but it is my roll and my responsibility to put together all of the big picture programming. So I program the first pass for individuals, teams, and age groupers this year. Part of my job is to take it to the team and say ‘tell me why this sucks, tell me what we could be doing better, tell me why this could be cooler, tell me why this could be a more legit test,” and that was exactly the process. So I took the first crack at everything. That was the big job for me.”
  • “It’s got to be awesome for everyone involved. It’s gotta be of course a legit test but it’s also got to be something the athletes are really excited to do and that they come away from it saying ‘yeah that was legit.'”
Watch Now...
 
SPONSORED
   

Pre-order now open: Be the first to get your feet into the shoes that over half the elite female and male athletes are wearing on the competition floor. Designed to take on the most rigorous competitions and training regiments, the TYR Limited Edition CXT-1 Trainer provides the ultimate base for any movement with responsive and durable support that reacts to the energy you put in. Reserve your size now so you don’t miss out.

 
PHOTOS
   

#ChalkUpAtTheGames Fan Photo of the Day

Photo Credit: Ransberg Digital

Making the trip to the CrossFit Games to support your crew? We want to see you! We’ll be sharing fan photos in the newsletter Thursday 8/4 – Sunday 8/7.

To be our featured fan photo of the day, post a picture to your Instagram feed with the hashtag #chalkupatthegames, and tag @morningchalkup. Show us your best fan shirts, signs, gear, affiliate shirts and group shots. Let’s show social media what the CrossFit community is all about. 🙌

 
CROSSFIT GAMES

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Wednesday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on YouTube as well as embedded on MorningChalkUp.com.

  • Individual Event 1: Bike to Work — 7:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM CT | 3:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 1: Biker Bob — 9:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM CT | 5:00 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Eent 2: Shuttle to Overhead — 11:00 AM PT | 1:00 PM CT | 7:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 2 and 3: Strong and Fast — 12:30 PM PT | 2:30 PM CT | 8:30 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 3: Name TBA — 2:30 PM PT | 4:30 PM CT | 10:30 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 4: Name TBA — 4:00 PM PT | 6:00 PM PT | 12:00 AM GMT+1 (Next day)
  • Individual Event 4: Name TBA — 5:00 PM PT | 7:00 PM CT | 1:00 AM GMT+1 (Next day)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Wednesday’s Workouts: Workout descriptions for individuals and teams only.

Individual Event 1 – Bike to Work (North Park)

  • For time:
    75 toes-to-bars
    5-mile bike
    75 chest-to-bar pull-ups
    5-mile bike
    Time cap: 50 minutes

Team Event 1 – Biker Bob (North Park)

  • Push Bob down the field Then,
    3 rounds for time:
    1-mile bike, M1F1
    252-ft Bob push, M2F2 (unloaded)
    30 synchro toes-to-bars, M2F2
    Then switch
    After final the final toes-to-bar, push Bob to finish

Individual Event 2 – Shuttle to Overhead (North Park)

  • From 0:00-2:00 (2 minutes)
    Run 400m
    Max jerks (300/200)
    Rest 1 minute
  • From 3:00-6:00 (3 minutes)
    Run 600m
    Max jerks (300/200)
    Rest 2 minutes
  • From 8:00-12:00 (4 minutes)
    Run 800m
    Max jerks (300/200)

Team Event 2 – Strong 

  • For load:
    1-rep max jerk, F1
    1-rep max front squat, F2
    1-rep max jerk, M1
    1-rep max front squat, M2

Team Event 3 – Fast

  • 1,600-m run (as a team)
    1,600-m run (2 members)
    1,600-m run (2 members)
    Time cap: 23 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • Details TBA this afternoon

Team Event 4

  • Details TBA this afternoon

Individual Event 4

  • Details TBA this afternoon
 
RESOURCES
   

What to Do Around Madison

Hanging out in Madison for the CrossFit Games week? Here are Morning Chalk Up’s guides to getting the most out of your week.

 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
8/20: Brawl in the Burbs VII (Bridgeport, PA)
8/20: Summer Smashdown (Tucson, AZ)
8/26 - 8/27: 6th Annual 24 in 24 to Benefit Rally Foundation (Cumming, GA)
8/27: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Sango (Clarksville, TN)
8/27: The MFLH Fight For The Fittest 2022 (Ronkonhoma, NY)
8/27: Dawg Days of Summer (Portsmouth, OH)
8/27 - 8/28: Tampa Bay Games (Tampa, FL)
8/27: Battle at the Base 7 (Oklahoma City, OK)
9/2 - 9/5: Elite Pit Teen Throwdown (Three Rivers, MI)
9/2 - 9/4: Wod War 4Mori (Alghero, Italy)
9/4: Girls Gone RX (Ocala, FL)
9/9 - 9/11: Fall Series Throwdown (Desio, Italy)
9/10: Turf Wars 2022 (Baltimore, MD)
9/10: Do More Charity Challenge @ CrossFit Loop (Castle Rock, CO)
9/10: Under the Oath Throwdown (Ooltewah, TN)
9/10: B3-Beauties, Beers, and Barbells @ Fortify Fitness Collective (Waunakee, WI)
9/16 - 9/18: WODAGOA Fitness Challenge (Genova, Italy)
9/17: River City Showdown (Decatur, AL)
9/17: Camel City Clash 2022 (Winston Salem, NC)
9/17: CrossFit Shorebreak Summer Showdown (Huntington Beach, CA)
9/17: Big Red Rumble 2022 (Holland, MI)
9/23 - 9/25: Beach Brawl (Pensacola, FL)
9/23 - 9/25: The Central Regional (Davenport, IA)
9/24: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Zoo (Ocala, FL)
9/24: FALL JAM 2022 (Blacklick, OH)
9/24 - 9/25: CrossFit Tuscany Games (Bellaria di Pontedera (PI), Italy)
9/29 - 10/25: Fittest of the Coast Coastal Qualifier powered by Victory Grips (Charleston, SC)
9/30 - 10/1: Iron Anchor Throwdown (Batavia, OH)
10/1 - 10/2: Fittest in the Fall (Indianapolis, IN)
10/1: West Town Throwdown (Chicago, IL)
10/1: Warrior Games 2022 (Suffield, CT)
10/2 - 10/16: CHLKDUP Box League – Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN)
10/8: Mayhem & Massacre @ Infinite Fitness & Health (Wharton, NJ)
10/8: The X Games (Brooklawn, NJ)
10/15: Bridgetown Throwdown (City of Industry, CA)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.