Your Coffee is ready.

It’s Moving Day at the 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Games Semifinals

 
Morning Chalk Up

May 20   |   POWERED BY

WildHealth_2

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up.

In today’s edition:

  • North American East Day Two is in the books and Jeffrey Adler and a pair of Emmas (Cary and Lawson) take the lead into Saturday
  • Meanwhile, down in South Africa, Gilmari Reyneke and Jason Smith top the leaderboard
  • Heading into Saturday, we have our eyes on Brooke Wells and teen alums on the women’s side, as well as the top three men in “Semifinals Linda”
 
NORTH AMERICA SEMIFINAL
   

The 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Games North America East Semifinal in Orlando, Florida kick off its third day of competition today, the final day for teams and second day for individuals. Full details on that are included below.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 9:00 AM ET, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes going into day three.

  1. Jeffrey Adler – 185 | Emma Cary – 185 | CrossFit East Nashville PRVN – 388
  2. Jayson Hopper – 170 | Emma Lawson – 182 | CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy 247 – 376
  3. Dallin Pepper – 167 | Amanda Barnhart – 161 | AB CrossFit – Mayhem – 361
  4. Will Moorad – 164 | Danielle Brandon – 158 | CrossFit Krypton – 346
  5. Alex Vigneault – 161 | Alexis Raptis – 152 | CrossFit Mayhem Independence – 328
  6. Noah Ohlsen – 159 | Feeroozeh Saghafi – 149 | CrossFit CLT The Grit Haus – 325
  7. Samuel Cournoyer – 155 | Caroline Stanley – 131 | TTT CrossFit Black – 301
  8. James Sprague – 153 | Paige Powers – 126 | CrossFit OBA – 295
  9. Benoît Boulanger – 152 | Danielle Kearns – 122 | CrossFit PSC Invasion – 292
  10. Luke Parker – 139 | Amanda Fischer – 119 | 8th Day CrossFit – 292

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Individual Event 3 — 6:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM ET | 2:00 PM BST
  • Team Event 5 — 8:45 AM PT | 11:45 AM ET | 4:45 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 and 5 — 10:20 AM PT | 1:20 PM ET | 6:20 PM BST
  • Team Event 6 — 2:20 PM PT | 5:20 PM ET | 10:20 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Day 3 Tests

Individual Test 3 – Semifinals Linda

For time:
10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 reps of:

  • Deadlifts
  • Dumbbell bench presses
  • Squat cleans

Time cap: 17 minutes

Women: 220 pound deadlifts, 60 pound dumbbells, 105 pound squat cleans

Men: 295 pound deadlifts, 90 pound dumbbells, 145 pound squat cleans

Men: 225 pounds

Team Test 5

  • 1 minute max-rep cleans (weight 1, lightest)
  • 2 minutes rest
  • 1 min max-rep cleans (weight 2)
  • 2 minutes rest
  • 1 min max-rep cleans (weight 3, heaviest)

Women: 195, 215, 235 pounds

Men: 275, 295, 315 pounds

Individual Test 4 and 5

TEST 4

For load:

  • Run 800m
  • Max snatch

Time Cap: 6 minutes

Following the time cap, athletes will have 2 minutes to reset.

TEST 5

For time:

  • 8 snatches (185/125 pounds or 84/56.5kg)
  • Run 800m

Time Cap: 6 minutes

Team Test 6

For time:

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 1 seated legless rope climb (each)
  • Men complete 10 strict chest-to-wall handstand push-ups (each)

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 2 legless rope climbs (each)
  • Men complete 15 strict handstand push-ups (each)

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 3 rope climbs each
  • Men complete 20 handstand push-ups each

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats

Time cap: 16 minutes

 
AFRICA SEMIFINAL
   

The REBEL Renegade Games, an official 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Games Semifinal in Johannesburg, South Africa began its second day of competition in the early morning hours for those of us in the US. Full details on that are included below.

How to catch up: 

  • Gilmari Reyneke set the tone with an event win and finished day one on top of the leaderboard
  • Veteran competitor Jason Smith landed himself at the top of the leaderboard on day one

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 3:00 AM ET, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams going into day two, the leaderboard is currently not updated.

  1. Jason Smith | Gilmari Reyneke | CrossFit FBDV Mayhem Africa
  2. Ruan Potgieter | Michelle Basnett | Cape CrossFit Wolfpack
  3. James Van Dongen | Maxx Klynsmith | CrossFit 10 Star Hybrids
  4. Kealan Henry | Laura Hume | CrossFit Tijger Valley Synergy
  5. Conrad Winnertz | Mariska Smit | CrossFit Juggernaut Unstoppable
  6. Driss Bouchiah | Emma Olley | Pack Life CrossFit Wanderers
  7. Daniel Griesel | Alicia Stoop | Motley Crew CrossFit Red
  8. Josh Kernot | Thea Kruger | CrossFit Zulu
  9. Justin Holliday | Christina Livaditakis | Pack Life CrossFit Sandton
  10. Damien Botes | Sofia Bennani | CrossFit Bounty

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 12:00 AM PT | 3:00 AM ET | 8:00 AM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 1:05 AM PT | 4:05 AM ET | 9:05 AM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 4:40 AM PT | 7:40 AM ET | 12:40 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 and 5 — 5:40 AM PT | 8:40 AM ET | 1:40 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Day 2 Tests

Team Test 3

As a relay (F/M/F/M), complete:

(F1 and M1)

  • 400-m sprint
  • 10 dumbbell bench presses (90/60 pounds)
  • 15 unbroken single-leg squats, leg 1
  • 15 unbroken single-leg squats, leg 2
  • 3 handstand pirouettes

(F2 and M2)

  • 400-m sprint
  • 15 dumbbell bench presses (90/60 pounds)
  • 10 unbroken single-leg squats, leg 1
  • 10 unbroken single-leg squats, leg 2
  • 3 handstand pirouettes

Time cap: 16 minutes

Individual Test 3 – Semifinals Linda 

For time
10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 reps of:

  • Deadlifts (295/220 pounds)
  • Dumbbell bench presses (90/60 pounds)
  • Squat cleans (145/105 pounds)

Time cap: 17 minutes

Team Test 4

5 rounds for time, in M/F pairs, of:

MF Pair 1 starts:

  • 10/7 row calories
  • 10 (each) synchro alternating dumbbell snatches (90/60 pounds)
  • 15 (each) 24-inch box jumps, alternating

MF Pair 2 starts:

  • 10/7 ski calories
  • 20 (each) synchro alternating dumbbell snatches (70/50 pounds)
  • 10 (each) 30-inch box jumps, alternating

*When both pairs have completed a round, switch positions for the following round.
**Pair 1 will row 3 times and ski 2 times.
***Pair 2 will ski 3 times and row 2 times.

Time cap: 15 minutes

Individual Test 4 and 5

TEST 4

For load:

  • Run 800m
  • Max snatch

Time Cap: 6 minutes

Following the time cap, athletes will have 2 minutes to reset.

TEST 5
For time:

  • 8 snatches (185/125 pounds or 84/56.5kg)
  • Run 800m

Time Cap: 6 minutes

 
SPONSORED WildHealth_2
Your DNA is Your Path to Improvement in the Gym

Your DNA is Your Path to Improvement in the Gym

Are you ready to reach your full potential in workouts?

Wild Health can decode over 700,000 DNA SNPs and analyze over 65+ blood biomarkers to create a personalized plan to help you get the right supplements, nutrition, diet, and recovery techniques to take your CrossFit game to the next level.

And with on-going unlimited health coach support, you’ll have the guidance you need to achieve your best results yet. Save 20% today with code “MCU20”

 
SEMIFINALS: BY THE NUMBERS

10 – Women finished under the time cap in event 1.
9 – Only 9 women finished Event One under the time cap at North America East.
8 – 5 Brute Strength athletes are sitting in the top 8 overall: Dallin Pepper (3), James Sprague (8), Emma Cary (1), Danielle Brandon (4), Fee Saghafi (6).
– Emma Lawson moves up from 7th to 2nd place.
– The total number of heats in event 2.
5 –  Five athletes who surprised us in Event One: Amanda Fischer, Danielle Kearns, Katelynn Sanders, Sarah Hogue, Allison Ralfs.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Photo Credit: Ava Kitzi

 
THINGS TO...
 

...WATCH

How To Bail a Backsquat

Coaches teach you how to bounce out of the bottom of a squat, how to grind out of the sticking point in a squat, and where to place the bar on your back. But what about what happens if you can’t stand it up?

BAIL BAIL BAIL.
     

SPONSORED

...KNOW

The Savage 1 Is Here

You're already a savage at the gym. You need shoes to match. Meet the Savage 1 by Born Primitive, the ultimate new cross training shoe designed for running, lifting, and everything in between. Don't miss the 72 hour presale window coming soon.

SIGN UP FOR PRESALE.
     
 

...READ

Fair is a Fairytale

CompTrain is always here for some tough love that you didn’t know you needed. This post is no exception.

IT’S NOT FAIR.
 
 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
6/1: Iowa Fitness League (Grimes, IA)
6/3: Summer Sizzle IV (Georgetown, TX)
6/3: Thieves & Beggars (Verona, NJ)
6/3: Do It For the Donuts – Part 2 (Lancaster, PA)
6/3: Fittin’ in the Mitten (Hudsonville, MI)
6/4: Plates & Cakes for Carly (Nevada, IA)
6/9 - 6/11: Atlantic Coast Classic (Daytona Beach, FL)
6/10: Summer Fling Beatdown 2023 (Pleasanton, CA)
6/10: Girls Gone Rx Canada: Quebec (Quebec, CA)
6/10: Best Babes Michigan (Brighton, MI)
6/10: Best Babes Clearwater (Clearwater, FL)
6/10: Best Babes Albany (Glenmont, NY)
6/10: Girls Gone Rx Fayetteville (Spring Lake, NC)
6/10: Midcoast Off the Rails (Old Saybrook, CT)
6/10: Battle By the Bay Fitness Championship (Atlantic Highlands, NJ)
6/10: Battle Of The Roses V6 (Roseland, NJ)
6/10: Back Lot Bout 2023 (St. Charles, MO)
6/10: Northern Nevada Masters 2023 (Carson City, NV)
6/10: TFX Throwdown (Downers Grove, IL)
6/10: Shorebreak Individual Challenge (Huntington Beach, CA)
6/10 - 6/11: Fight Gone Alpha (Sala Bolognese, Italy)
6/10: Girls Gone RX Nashville (Nashville, TN)
6/10: RIFL Summer Slam (Manteo, NC)
6/10 - 6/11: Battle By The Bay (Atlantic Highlands, NJ)
6/10: Gilrs Gone Rx Chicago (Chicago, IL)
6/10: Best Babes South Dakota (Rapid City, SD)
6/10: Girls Gone Rx NorCal (Petaluma, CA)
6/10: Invictus Seattle Partner Palooza (Seattle, WA)
6/10: Bucktown Battlegrounds (Chicago, IL)
6/16 - 6/17: ARX Summer Slam (Maumelle, AR)
6/17: 23′ North County Throwdown (Carlsbad, CA)
6/17: Brooklyn Fit Fest 2023 (Brooklyn, NY)
6/17: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Murrieta (Murrieta, CA)
6/17: Mayhem In Montana 2023 (Kalispell, MT)
6/17: The Heat (Lynchburg, VA)
6/24: The Phoenix Classic (Asbury Park, NJ)
6/24: Heroes in the Heartland 2023 (Sedalia, MO)
6/24: 4th Annual Wicked Summer Throwdown (Middleton, MA)
6/24: Backyahd Games (Johnston, RI)
6/25: Solent Series Masters Pairs (Southampton, United Kingdom)
7/7 - 7/9: Napolithrowdown (Napoli, Italy)
7/8 - 7/9: Andorra Fitness Challenge (Andorra la Vella, Andorra)
7/8 - 7/9: Ligurian Throwdown (Busalla, Italy)
7/8: Summer Solstice (Tucson, AZ)
7/15: Summer Sizzler (Limestone, TN)
7/15 - 7/16: Fresh Coast Games (Muskegon, MI)
7/15: Battle of the Beast (Hudson, NY)
7/15: Lumberjack Athletics “Battle of the Beast” (Hudson, NY)
7/15 - 7/16: 5Ton-5K Festival (Federalsburg, MD)
7/16: Warrior Affiliate League Summer Classic (Apple Valley, CA)
7/22: Barbells For Bullies New Jersey (Roxbury twp, NJ)
7/29: Model City Madness (Anniston, AL)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.