Your Coffee is ready.

Saxon Panchik Flexes as Emma Lawson Continues to Impress

 
Morning Chalk Up

August 6   |   POWERED BY

Beam_logos

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up. The 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games are here, and we will have you covered for everything and anything you need to know.

Note: The Morning Chalk Up will not be publishing the newsletter August 8-12, as we will be taking some much needed R&R, but we’ll be back in action the following week, so don’t go anywhere.

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
   

Day 3 Lay of the Land

The third day of the 16th annual NOBULL CrossFit Games in Madison, WI is over. Over the next two days, there will be six individual events, five team events, and three age group and adaptive events to crown the fittest athletes on earth.

Yesterday, the individuals tackled three events: “The Capitol”, “Up and Over” and “Echo Press”. This was the heaviest load day for events, given that the athletes only had to do two events on the first day, and used the second day (which was supposed to be a rest day) to complete the third. So the question is, who will bounce back the best today on Saturday, and who was the most prepared for this schedule switch?

Analyst Mike Halpin has a great breakdown on some comparable events to yesterday’s absolutely crushing “Echo Press” that left the elites looking completely exhausted.

Two big numbers: 25.8 million and 2. The first is the total population of Australia and the second is the total number of Australians leading the 2022 CrossFit Games — Ricky Garard and Tia-Clair Toomey.

For the statisticians: 

How to stay in the know: 

  • Make sure to follow our live blog, which will be aggregating the top stories and news on the ground.
  • Set a reminder to watch our Day 3 recap with special guests James Hobart and Kari Pearce.
  • How to watch and schedule of events in your local time zone
  • Subscribe to our Instagram and YouTube.

Today’s top stories: A few stories to help kick off the games.

  • Friday started off with an absolute banger of an event at the Wisconsin State Capitol Building, and we were all over it, covering everything including the amazing atmosphere the CrossFit Games created in the downtown core
  • Saxon Panchik had a really, really great Friday and now looks to the final two days to build on what could be a great turnaround for him
  • Emma Lawson is doing pretty damn good for a 17-year-old rookie at the Games
  • Looking for a pick me up? We’ve got four stories to help lift your spirits, if they aren’t already after three days of amazingness in Madison
  • What’s going on with the team division and can the superteam led by Iceland’s Annie Thorisdottir make it a memorable finale against Rich Froning and Mayhem Freedom?
  • Canadian Emily Rolfe spoke to Morning Chalk Up about her recovery from emergency surgery and how an amazing surgeon went the extra mile for her at the hospital
  • Who is this Enrico Zenoni guy? Well, glad you asked because our European correspondent Mark Agnew sat down with him for a full profile piece and found out he is big into meditation
  • Missed all the action and need a quick recap? Check out our full breakdown of all three events from Friday

One last thing: There are now two days left for the individual competitors and there are still 600 points left up for grabs, so we are far from done here.

 
SPONSORED Beam_logos
Games got you up late?

Games got you up late?

We can’t be the only ones staying up late to see how the leaderboard is shaping up. If you’re in need of better, deeper sleep, Dream Powder from Beam will get you there.

Dream Powder is packed with zzz-promoting ingredients, like nano CBD, reishi, magnesium, l-theanine, and melatonin. Let swirls of caramel satisfy your sweet tooth and help you fall asleep, stay asleep, and wake up refreshed. It has only 15 calories and no added sugar.

Just put one scoop into a mug of warm milk or hot water and blend using your Beam frother for a cozy finish. Sip 30-40 minutes before bedtime to enjoy your deepest night’s sleep.

After taking Dream Powder:

  • 98% of people feel an improvement in quality of sleep.
  • 91% of people notice increased productivity the following day.

Exclusive Games Offer: Up to 35% off with code “MCU”.

 
STATS

Leaderboards

The first event kicks off at 8:00 AM CT for teams, with individuals following at 11:00 AM. Each day, we will have the top athlete scores across all divisions detailed below. This leaderboard will update throughout the competition.

Individuals and Teams

  1. Ricky Garard – 681 | Tia-Clair Toomey – 697 | CrossFit Mayhem Freedom – 552
  2. Justin Medeiros – 656 | Mallory O’Brien – 653 | CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue – 537
  3. Roman Khrennikov – 635 | Emma Lawson – 650 | CrossFit Invictus – 519
  4. Jeffrey Adler – 532 | Haley Adams – 605 | CrossFit Mayhem Independence – 504
  5. Patrick Vellner – 531 | Kristi Eramo O’Connell – 587 | CrossFit Reykjavík – 480
  6. Saxon Panchik – 528 | Danielle Brandon – 576 | CrossFit Selwyn – 417
  7. Samuel Kwant – 510 | Arielle Loewen – 566 | CrossFit Omnia Black – 390
  8. Björgvin Karl Guðmundsson – 501 | Alexis Raptis – 542 | CrossFit OverTake Team Density – 381
  9. Noah Ohlsen – 494 | Emma McQuaid – 510 | CrossFit Taranis LifeTree – 372
  10. Jayson Hopper – 476 | Brooke Wells – 495 | CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy – 360

Age Groups

14-15

  1. RJ Mestre – 490 | Lucy McGonigle – 420
  2. Tal Simson – 410 | Caroline Sabatini – 390
  3. Yousef Diab – 360 | Rylee Beebe – 370

16-17

  1. Elijah Subiono – 390 | Olivia Kerstetter – 350
  2. Ty Jenkins – 390 | Trista Smith – 310
  3. Caleb McClure – 360 | Sophia Shaft – 290

35-39

  1. Bryan Wong – 360 | Aneta Tucker – 410
  2. Rogelio Gamboa – 350 | Emilia Leppänen – 400
  3. Josh Marunde – 330 | Chyna Cho – 390

40-44

  1. Alexandre Jolivet – 330 | Jenn Ryan – 460
  2. Rudolph Berger – 330 | Kelly Friel – 400
  3. Caine Hayes – 290 | Rebecca Voigt Miller – 380

45-49

  1. Jason Grubb – 460 | Ali Crawford – 340
  2. Mike Kern – 440 | Michelle Suozzi – 340
  3. Vlad Liashkevich – 380 | Jennifer Dieter – 330

50-54

  1. Eirik Solen – 350 | Kim Purdy – 420
  2. Richard Stevenson – 320 | Cheryl Brost – 400
  3. Eric C. Smith – 290 | Nathalie Connors – 370

55-59

  1. Mike Egan – 440 | Leigh Coates – 390
  2. Leonardo Wernersbach Lima – 400 | Shanna Bunce – 350
  3. Antonio Boldrini – 380 | Kim Stambaugh – 310

60-64

  1. Shannon Aiken – 450 | Mary Beth Prodromides – 440
  2. William Powell – 380 | Lynne Knapman – 290
  3. Christian Galy – 360 | Shelly Chapple – 290

65+

  1. Cal Cherrington – 460 | Pia Gund – 410
  2. John Mariotti – 350 | Marcia Yager – 370
  3. Osvaldo Tupinamba – 330 | Patti Walkover – 350

Upper Extremity

  1. Casey Acree – 500 | Camille Vigneault – 385
  2. Josue Maldonado – 375 | Anne-Laure Coutenceau – 325
  3. Alexis Fiorucci – 215 | Christina Mazzullo – 320

Lower Extremity

  1. Rogan Dean – 335 | Valerie Cohen – 500
  2. Charles Pienaar – 325 | Amy Bream – 295
  3. Ole Kristian Antonsen – 300 | Molly Moore – 275

Neuromuscular

  1. Brett Horchar – 425 | Morgan Johnson – 450
  2. Jeremie PERERA – 295 | Lauren Taylor – 320
  3. Benjamin Fallon – 280 | Letchen du Plessis – 175
 
SPONSORED
   

Reebok Rewards Athletes and Fans for Wearing Nano X2 in Madison: 

Reebok has already given away $144,000 in Bonus Program earnings, but today and tomorrow they’ll also be looking for a lucky Nano X2-wearing fan to receive a $1,200 Reebok gift card. Not enough? Post a photo on Instagram in your X2s and tag @MorningChalkUp and @Reebok and you’ll have a chance to win a Reebok Bonus Program Athlete Seeding Kit.

 
BY THE NUMBERS

Day 3 By the Numbers


72
 – points between 27th Alex Gazan and 33rd Caroline Conners on the Women’s leaderboard

64 – points between 27th Guillaume Briant and 33rd Austin Spencer on the Mens leaderboard

30 – The Individual field cuts down to this many athletes after the events on Saturday.

44 – Points between Tia-Clair Toomey and Mal O’Brien going into Saturday.

28 – Ricky Garard’s lowest placement so far in Event 7 Echo Press after getting Time Capped plus 32 reps

25 – Points between Ricky Garard and Justin Medeiros at the end of the night on Friday. Ricky started the day 69 points up on Justin.

15 – Points between CrossFit Mayhem Freedom and CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue as Rich and team take back the leader jerseys on Day 3 with back-to-back first place finishes in ‘Muscle Pig’ and ‘Handstand Machine’

 
SCHEDULE

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on YouTube as well as embedded on MorningChalkUp.com.

  • Age Groups and Adaptive — 6:00 AM PT | 8:00 AM CT | 2:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 7: Rinse ‘N’ Repeat — 6:00 AM PT | 8:00 AM CT | 2:00 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 8: Rinse ‘N’ Repeat — 9:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM CT | 5:00 PM GMT+1
  • Age Groups and Adaptive — 10:30 AM PT | 12:30 PM CT | 6:30 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 8: TBA — 11:00 AM PT | 1:00 PM CT | 7:00 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 9: TBA — 12:00 PM PT | 2:00 PM CT | 8:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 9: TBA — 1:30 PM PT | 3:30 PM CT | 9:30 PM GMT+1
  • Age Groups and Adaptive — 2:00 PM PT | 4:00 PM CT | 10:00 PM GMT+1
  • Award Ceremony: Age Groups and Adaptive — 2:30 PM PT | 4:30 PM CT | 10:30 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 10 TBA — 4:00 PM PT | 6:00 PM CT | 12:00 AM GMT+1

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Saturday’s Workouts: Workout descriptions for individuals and teams only.

Team Event 7 – Rinse ‘N’ Repeat

  • Starting every 2 minutes:
    50-yard swim
    8-cal ski erg*
    (*add 2 cal each round)
    Athletes continue as long as they can make the interval. If they advance past round 6, rounds 7 and 8 are for max calories.

Individual Event 8 – Rinse ‘N’ Repeat

  • Starting every 2 minutes:
    50-yard swim
    8-cal ski erg*
    (*add 2 cal each round)
    Athletes continue as long as they can make the interval. If they advance past round 6, rounds 7 and 8 are for max calories.

Individual Event 9 – TBA

Team Event 8 – TBA

Individual Event 10 – TBA

 
#CHALKUPATTHEGAMES
   

Fan Photo of the Day

Photo from @jonathanvarelacr featuring Sam Briggs, Chyna Cho, and Tasia Percevecz

“My daughter Ophelia begged me to take her with me for a moment to the athlete area… and look who she decided to snag her first flex 💪🏾 picture with – she’s now a forever fan. Thanks to these incredible women for making this little girl’s day!”

To be our featured fan photo of the day, post a picture to your Instagram feed with the hashtag #chalkupatthegames. Show us your best fan shirts, signs, gear, affiliate shirts, athlete pics or group shots. 📸

 
RESOURCES
   

What to Do Around Madison

Hanging out in Madison for the CrossFit Games week? Here are Morning Chalk Up’s guides to getting the most out of your week.

 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
8/20: Brawl in the Burbs VII (Bridgeport, PA)
8/20: Summer Smashdown (Tucson, AZ)
8/26 - 8/27: 6th Annual 24 in 24 to Benefit Rally Foundation (Cumming, GA)
8/27: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Sango (Clarksville, TN)
8/27: The MFLH Fight For The Fittest 2022 (Ronkonhoma, NY)
8/27: Dawg Days of Summer (Portsmouth, OH)
8/27 - 8/28: Tampa Bay Games (Tampa, FL)
8/27: Battle at the Base 7 (Oklahoma City, OK)
9/2 - 9/5: Elite Pit Teen Throwdown (Three Rivers, MI)
9/2 - 9/4: Wod War 4Mori (Alghero, Italy)
9/4: Girls Gone RX (Ocala, FL)
9/9 - 9/11: Fall Series Throwdown (Desio, Italy)
9/10: Turf Wars 2022 (Baltimore, MD)
9/10: Do More Charity Challenge @ CrossFit Loop (Castle Rock, CO)
9/10: Under the Oath Throwdown (Ooltewah, TN)
9/10: B3-Beauties, Beers, and Barbells @ Fortify Fitness Collective (Waunakee, WI)
9/16 - 9/18: WODAGOA Fitness Challenge (Genova, Italy)
9/17: River City Showdown (Decatur, AL)
9/17: Camel City Clash 2022 (Winston Salem, NC)
9/17: CrossFit Shorebreak Summer Showdown (Huntington Beach, CA)
9/17: Big Red Rumble 2022 (Holland, MI)
9/23 - 9/25: Beach Brawl (Pensacola, FL)
9/23 - 9/25: The Central Regional (Davenport, IA)
9/24: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Zoo (Ocala, FL)
9/24: FALL JAM 2022 (Blacklick, OH)
9/24 - 9/25: CrossFit Tuscany Games (Bellaria di Pontedera (PI), Italy)
9/29 - 10/25: Fittest of the Coast Coastal Qualifier powered by Victory Grips (Charleston, SC)
9/30 - 10/1: Iron Anchor Throwdown (Batavia, OH)
10/1 - 10/2: Fittest in the Fall (Indianapolis, IN)
10/1: West Town Throwdown (Chicago, IL)
10/1: Warrior Games 2022 (Suffield, CT)
10/2 - 10/16: CHLKDUP Box League – Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN)
10/8: Mayhem & Massacre @ Infinite Fitness & Health (Wharton, NJ)
10/8: The X Games (Brooklawn, NJ)
10/15: Bridgetown Throwdown (City of Industry, CA)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.