Your Coffee is ready.

The Granite Games is Upon Us

 
Morning Chalk Up

June 3   |   POWERED BY

MANSCAPED_1639525288 (4)

Good morning and welcome to Morning Chalk Up. Day one of the Far East Throwdown is in the books, and the Granite Games will be starting later today, but don’t worry, we’ve got you covered.

In today’s edition:

  • Everything you need to know about the Granite Games
  • The Far East Throwdown continues with day two
  • Where does week three of programming for the semifinals stack up?
  • Looking at the age group and adaptive divisions for semifinals
  • CrossFit moms take on Netflix’s Floor is Lava
 
QUOTE OF THE DAY + Send us a Quote

“If you want a thing done well, do it yourself.” - Napoleon Bonaparte

 
GRANITE GAMES
   

In just a couple of hours, the Granite Games kicks off in Eagan, MN. Full details are included below:

  • This will be a tough field for the men to qualify out of, no doubt. Look for Brent Fikowski and Chandler Smith to try to make statements early, as well as Samuel Kwant and Tim Paulson. There is a crew of other guys with Sanctional, Semifinal and Games experience who will be vying for a spot in Madison.
  • On the women’s side, all eyes will be on Mal O’Brien in her sophomore season. After winning the Open and North American Quarterfinals, there are high expectations for her performance this weekend. Amanda Barnhart should be a shoo-in for a Games spot with Dani Speegle, Emily Rolfe, Fee Saghafi and others dukeing it out for the rest.
  • Both CrossFit Invictus and CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy come into the event as favorites with returning and new members on their respective rosters.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 12:54 PM PT, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of quarterfinals.

  1. Chandler Smith | Mallory O’Brien | CrossFit Invictus
  2. Samuel Kwant | Amanda Barnhart | CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy
  3. Phil Toon | Alex Gazan | CrossFit OBA
  4. Zachery Buntin | Feeroozeh Saghafi | CrossFit Greater Heights Ascend
  5. Brent Fikowski | Kloie Wilson | Stay Strong CrossFit Black
  6. Tyler Eggimann | Caroline Stanley | Rayzor Ranch CrossFit
  7. Timothy Paulson | Dani Speegle | Rhapsody CrossFit
  8. Nick Mathew | Kelly Stone | Lone Star CrossFit Red
  9. Colten Mertens | Emily Rolfe | CrossFit Invictus Unconquerable
  10. Norman Woodring | Chelsea Nicholas | CrossFit Reignited ILM

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 12:54 PM PT | 2:54 PM CT | 8:54 PM BST
  • Individual Event 1 — 1:42 PM PT | 3:42 PM CT | 9:42 PM BST
  • Team Event 2 — 3:00 PM PT | 5:00 PM CT | 11:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 2 — 5:01 PM PT | 7:01 PM CT | 1:01 AM BST (Sat)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • For time (in a relay fashion): F-F-M-M
    30 Snatches (115/80)
    30yd Handstand Walk
    Time Cap: 12 Minutes

Individual Event 1

  • For time:
    9-15-21
    Barbell Thrusters (115/80)
    Yard Handstand Walk
    Time Cap: 6 Minutes

Team Event 2

  • Snatch Ladder
    Men: 185-195-205-215-225-235-245-255-265-275 lb.
    Women: 135-140-145-150-155-160-165-170-175-180 lb.
    Time Cap: 22 Minutes

Individual Event 2

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 cleans + 2 front squats + 1 jerk (shoulder-to-overhead)
    Time Cap: 15 Minutes
 
SPONSORED MANSCAPED_1639525288 (4)
Join The Four Million Men Worldwide Who Trust MANSCAPED™

Join The Four Million Men Worldwide Who Trust MANSCAPED™

Summer is coming and so are outdoor WODs, runs, bike rides…and the *issues* that come with them.

On a mission to protect you from the long, hot, grinding summer workouts, MANSCAPED™ designs premium tools, formulations, and accessories that introduce a whole new self-care routine for men.

Try out MANSCAPED’s all-in-one groin grooming kit with the Lawn Mower® 4.0 electric trimmer, the Weed Whacker nose and ear trimmer, anti-chafing groin deodorant, groin toner spray, and two free gifts.

Morning Chalk Up readers can get 20% off, free shipping, and two free gifts with code “CHALK22”.

Your balls will thank you.

 
FAR EAST THROWDOWN
   

Day 1 of the Far East Throwdown is about to wrap up down in South Korea. Day 2, moving day, will start at 6:00 PM PT later tonight.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here is the leaderboard through event 1, midway through the first day of competition. Event 2 is wrapping up, check out the full leaderboard link below for complete up-to-date information.

  1. Roman Khrennikov – 100 | Seung Yeon Choi – 100 | KT CrossFit Kolesnikov Team – 100
  2. Nasser Alruwayeh – 96 | Shahad Budebs – 96 | CrossFit Yas Black – 95
  3. Aleksandr Ilin – 92 | Seher Kaya – 92 | CrossFit Alioth – 90
  4. Andrey Fedotov – 88 | Omer Reshef – 88 | CrossFit We Can Do It Team Busan – 85
  5. Artur Semenov – 84 | Uracha Teerawanitsan – 84 | L7 CrossFit Ba Ke Si Formosa – 80
  6. Ant Haynes – 80 | Dema Zebdieh – 80 | CrossFit Mobilus Chinatown Sour Patch – 75
  7. Vladislav Zakhovaev – 76 | Dawon Jung – 76 | MVMT CrossFit – 70
  8. Vitaliy Stepanov – 72 | Merve Gokcil – 72 | CrossFit Atlantic WOD Friends – 65
  9. Ilyas Kuliev – 68 | Yuko Sakuyama – 68 | CrossFit Erada Team Qatar – 60
  10. Ruslan Miftakhov – 64 | Rena Urabe – 64 | Soyuz CrossFit Terfit – 55

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 10:00 AM GMT+9 (Sat)  | 6:00 PM PT (Fri) | 2:00 AM BST (Sat)
  • Individual Event 3 — 10:55 AM GMT+9 (Sat) | 6:55 PM PT (Fri) | 2:55 AM BST (Sat)
  • Team Event 4 — 12:45 PM GMT+9 (Sat) | 8:45 PM PT (Fri) | 4:45 AM BST (Sat)
  • Individual Event 4 — 2:45 PM GMT+9 (Sat) | 10:45 PM PT (Fri) | 6:45 AM BST (Sat)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For Time, starting with female pair:40 Thrusters 95lb
    6 Legless Rope Climbs
    30 Thrusters 95lb
    4 Legless Rope Climbs
    20 Thrusters 95lb
    2 Legless Rope Climbs
    Immediately followed by the male pair (thrusters at 135lb).
    Time Cap: 20 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • 10 Rounds For Time:1 Legless Rope Climb, 15′
    Run (170′)
    Time Cap: 11 minutes

Team Event 4

  • Snatch Ladder(Weight in lb.)
    M: 185/195/205/215/225/235/245/255/265/275 (11th platform staged at 285)
    F: 135/140/145/150/155/160/165/170/175/180 (11th platform staged at 185)

Individual Event 4

  • For Time:200 Double-Unders
    100-ft Handstand Walk
    5 Snatches 185/125lb
    4 Snatches 205/135lb
    3 Snatches 225/155lb
    2 Snatches 245/155lb
    1 Snatch 265/165lb
    Time Cap: 12 minutes
 
SPEED READS

In case you missed it: Lauren Kalil, the host of The Bottom Line, spoke to Morning Chalk Up analysts Tommy Marquez, Brian Friend and Patrick Clark about who they think will make the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games from the Far East Throwdown.

Shoes of greatness: The Reebok Nano X1 Froning Men’s shoe is all kinds of slick. 😎

Explainer: CrossFit breaks down what they mean exactly by functional movements with a full range of motion: “We say functional movements are ‘natural,’ meaning they are not movement patterns used only at the gym. Rather, these movements are found everywhere in human behavior and arise spontaneously as a response to life.”

Top tips: Some great thoughts here about training for peak cardiovascular endurance in Women’s Health.

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
  Getting Close to the Full 2022 Programming Picture: Week 3 Analytics  

Getting Close to the Full 2022 Programming Picture: Week 3 Analytics

This is the third in a series of pieces in which we are evaluating variations and anomalies across the four Semifinal workouts each competition was able to program independently. If you haven’t seen the previous two, you can reference them for more details about what we’re doing here:

Although some of the programming for the final week is already available, we have only added the details for the two Semifinals that will be taking place in week 3: The Granite Games and the Far East Throwdown. With seven of the ten Semifinals available for comparison here, more and more of the picture is coming into view. We’ll go through them in the same order we have been doing, beginning with time domains.

Continue Reading...
 
CROSSFIT GAMES
  2022 CrossFit Semifinals Preview: 50-65+ Age Group and Adaptive Divisions  

2022 CrossFit Semifinals Preview: 50-65+ Age Group and Adaptive Divisions

The second part of the NOBULL CrossFit Games Age-Group and Adaptive Division Semifinals takes place this weekend. Over 400 athletes from eight Age-Group and six adaptive divisions will be competing online for a coveted CrossFit Games invitation.

Additionally ten Adaptive divisions will be conducting their virtual finals to crown the “Fittest” in their respective divisions. For those competing in the Semifinals, the top-10 finishers will receive Games invites.

50-54 Age Group Division

Men: None of the podium finishers from the 2021 Games will be competing in this weekend’s Semifinal, meaning a new champion will be crowned for this division. Bob Ruano is the highest finishing returnee from last year’s Games, placing fifth last year in his fifth Games appearance. Last year he won the division’s Age Group Online Qualifier to gain his invite to the Games. This year he finished fifth in the Quarterfinals.

Kiwi Shaun O’Neill won the Quarterfinal stage and looks for his first Games appearance in his first year in the division. Jeffrey Tincher, John Kim and Darius Boockholdt are also returning Games athletes from the division that finished in the top-10.

Women: The silver and bronze medalists return as they seek the vacant gold in the division. Joyanne Cooper has top-10 finishes in all five of her Games appearances, placing better every year including her second place last year. Carrie Sandoval placed third last year, her best finish in her fourth Games appearance.

Cheryl Brost returns to Games competition, last competing in 2019. She has competed in three divisions across her illustrious career winning the 45-49 in 2016 and 2017. She started off as an individual competitor placing as high as seventh in 2011. She won the Quarterfinals thanks to four top-5 finishes as she looks to earn her first invite in the 50-54 division.

Continue Reading...
 
COMPETITION
  Moms of Steel Bring CrossFit to Netflix’s “Floor is Lava”  

Moms of Steel Bring CrossFit to Netflix’s “Floor is Lava”

Three members of the CrossFit community are about to put their athletic skills on display in an entirely new way. The Moms of Steel – Kelley Franceschi, Rosanna Sansone, and Rebecca Bowman – competed on season two of Netflix’s “Floor is Lava”, which premiers today.

Remind me: Hosted by do-it-all TV personality Rutledge Wood, “Floor is Lava” is the adult version of the popular kids game. Teams of three have to navigate custom-built rooms by jumping or climbing from obstacle to obstacle while avoiding the “lava” that fills the room and makes every surface slick.

  • The teams of three have no idea what challenges await them before entering the room. They have to take everything in before coming up with a plan and executing.
  • Executives took the competition to another level for the second season by implementing a massive volcano that the competitors have to climb, as well as other massive obstacles.

“When you show up [to CrossFit], you don’t know what the workout’s gonna be. And we didn’t know what the room was gonna look like,” Sansone explained. “So we had to prepare for anything and everything. For me, I think the win was just getting there. I just felt really blessed that we were picked from so many applicants.”

Continue Reading...
 
THINGS TO...
 

...WATCH

A Day in the Life of Gui

You know him as the 7th Fittest Man on Earth, but did you also know that Guilherme Malheiros is a world-class dancer, impressionist, and bracelet maker? Go through a day with Gui training and living in Cookeville, TN.

BRAZILIAN BEAST MODE.
     

SPONSORED

...BUY

Beam's New Limited Edition Sea Salt Caramel Dream Powder

Beam’s new Sea Salt Caramel Dream Powder is packed with zzz-promoting ingredients, like nano CBD, reishi, magnesium, l-theanine, and melatonin. Let swirls of caramel satisfy your sweet tooth and help you fall asleep, stay asleep, and wake up refreshed with only 15 calories and no added sugar. Like summer, this flavor won’t last.

MCU EXCLUSIVE: UP TO 35% OFF WITH CODE "MCU".
     
 

...UNLOCK

Your Tight Hips

Too much boogying? We got you covered. Mobilizing your hips is essential for getting deeper in your squat and lifting more weight in your cleans. Here are nine exercises you can try to unlock your hips and set some new PRs.

GOTTA TRY 'EM ALL.
     
 

...SNAG

A Free WHOOP Strap 4.0 and Extra Month's Membership

WHOOP measures your body's data over 100 times a second to provide personalized feedback on your recovery, strain, and sleep. Morning Chalk Up readers can get a free strap and an extra month's membership when you sign up at the link below.

START TRACKING NOW.
     
 

...LEARN

How To Fix Someone's Neck Pain

A neck massage feels pretty darned good no matter what it looks like. But it isn't always doing you any real good. Watch and learn the best method of stretching a partner's neck to help them to gain some extra mobility.

LIKE AN OWL.
 
HIGHLIGHTS

Celebrating a PR, hosting a fundraiser, this, that, or otherwise. Send us a highlight.

  • CrossFit Invictus has a new location in Washington, DC where they hosted their Grand Opening with a Memorial Day Murph workout.
  • 🙌 14-year-old Tim Bannon lands his first 20-inch box jump …and it’s a special one.
  • Sophie Shaft clean and jerks 235 pounds/106.5kg for second place in Age Group Semifinals Event 6.
  • Scott Panchik officially went under the knife on Thursday for knee surgery. Best of luck to him in his road to recovery.
  • Congratulations to 15-year-old Jace Wolf from CrossFit Caliber in Streamwood, IL on the 175 pound/79kg snatch PR.

On June 18, Shotgun CrossFit is hosting an Eva Strong partner workout to honor the students and teachers that lost their lives in the Uvalde, TX school shooting last month. The CrossFit community at large is invited to join them.

  • Eva Strong
    5 rounds for time:
    24 double-unders
    19 toes-to-bar
    2 clean and jerks
    400m run
 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
7/9 - 7/10: Rex Rumble 11 Double Down (Ocala, FL)
7/9: Rex Rumble at CrossFit zoo (Ocala, FL)
7/16: Girls Gone Rx Fayetteville (Spring Lake, NC)
7/16: Girls Gone Rx San Antonio (San Antonio, TX)
7/16: Girls Gone Rx West Texas (Snyder, YX)
7/16: Girls Gone Rx South Sound (Puyallup, WA)
7/16: Girls Gone Rx Wilmington (Wilmington, NC)
7/16: Buckeye Games Individuals/Masters (Medina, OH)
7/17: Warrior Affiliate League Summer Classic (Whittier, CA)
7/23: Palm City CrossFit Fairgrounds Throwdown (Stuart, FL)
7/23: Buckeye Games Team Competition (Medina, OH)
7/30: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Fernandina (Yulee, FL)
7/30: No Grit No Glory (Barbell for Boobs) (Byron, IL)
8/13: The Mortal Games 2022 (Sunrise, FL)
8/20: Summer Smashdown (Tucson, AZ)
8/27: Mayhem & Massacre @ CrossFit Sango (Clarksville, TN)
8/27: The MFLH Fight For The Fittest 2022 (Ronkonhoma, NY)
8/27: Dawg Days of Summer (Portsmouth, OH)
9/4: Girls Gone RX (Ocala, FL)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.