Read the latest Morning Chalk Up articles on BarBend
Your Coffee is ready.

Dani Speegle On Top After First Day of Granite Games

 
Morning Chalk Up

June 4   |   POWERED BY

Web

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up semifinals edition. Day two of the Far East Throwdown is wrapping now or soon (depending on your time zone) and the second day of the Granite Games will kick off in a few hours. Here’s what you need to know.

In today’s edition:

  • Dani Speegle lifts heavy to lead Granite Games after day one
  • Phil Toon started off the Granite Games with a bang and the lead
  • Roman Khrennikov and Seungyeon Choi lead Far East Throwdown into day two

For a complete schedule in your local time zone, alerts, leaderboard and story download our iOS or Android app.

 
SPONSORED Web
Fuel Yourself to Bigger PRs

Fuel Yourself to Bigger PRs

Here’s the cold hard truth.

If you’re slacking on your nutrition, you won’t perform at your best.

So if you’re serious about hitting new PRs, it’s time to start thinking about your diet.

Thankfully, you don’t have to think too hard–the RP Diet Coach app can do all the work for you. The app will build and guide you through a custom diet, step-by-step. All you need to do is to focus on what you do best: training.

And with the new update, you can move macros around as needed. Enjoy date night, special occasions, or shift around macros to suit you. Results and added flexibility.

Discounted price of $9.99/mo for the first 6 months with our referral.

 
GRANITE GAMES
   

Photo Credit: Patrick Clark | Athlete’s Eye Photography

With Day 1 in the books, we are looking ahead to Day 2 and all of the action on moving day. Full details are included below:

  • Dani Speegle ends Day 1 on top of the leaderboard with a second and first place finish (tying the world record in the barbell complex at 245). Amanda Barnhart closes out the day in second with a third and second, while Mal O’Brien is doing what she needs to do with a first place finish in event one and a fifth in event two, closing it out in third.
  • CrossFit Invicuts heads into Day 2 with a five point lead over CrossFit OBA.
  • On the men’s side, Phil Toon, the Brute Strength athlete, took the Day 1 lead. Colten Mertens is following close behind, while Tim Paulson and Brent Fikowski sit just outside the cut line.
  • Brian Friend and Jake Marconi talk with Lauren Kalil, the host of The Bottom Line, about all the Granite Games madness from Day 1, while Friend also breaks down the action in his recap story.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition on Day 2 starts at 11:31 AM PT, but here’s the leaderboard as it stands at the end of Day 1.

  1. Phil Toon (188) | Dani Speegle (196) | CrossFit Invictus (190)
  2. Colten Mertens(184) | Amanda Barnhart (188) | CrossFit OBA (185) 
  3. Travis Mayer (176) | Mallory O’Brien (184) | CrossFit Greater Heights Ascend (180)
  4. Zachery Buntin (172) | Alex Willis (156) |  CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy (165)
  5. Nick Mathew (172) | Kloie Wilson (152) | Rhapsody CrossFit (145)
  6. Timothy Paulson (156) | Kelly Stone (144) | CrossFit Breaking Boundaries (145)
  7. Brent Fikowski (156) | Kaela Stephano (128) | Undefeated CrossFit (115)
  8. Leonel Franco (136) | Chelsea Nicholas (121) | Verdant CrossFit (110)
  9. Anthony Davis (119) | Chloe Carano (120) | CrossFit Invictus Unconquerable (110)
  10. Samuel Kwant (118) | Sydney Wells (113) | CrossFit Union Square Black (105)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 11:31 AM PT | 1:31 PM CT | 7:31 PM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 1:04 PM PT | 3:04 PM CT | 9:04 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 4:27 PM PT | 6:27 PM CT | 12:27 AM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 5:36 PM PT | 7:36 PM CT | 1:36 AM BST (Sun)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • In mixed gender pairs, for time:Pair #1
    100ft Synchro D-Ball Lunges, 100 / 70lb
    75 GHD Sit-ups – Total
    55 Synchro DB Single-arm Overhead Squats, 70 / 50lb
    35 Ring Muscle-ups – Total
    100 Synchro Wallballs, 20/14lbRight into…

    Pair #2
    100 Synchro Wallballs, 20 / 14lb
    35 Ring Muscle-ups – Total
    55 Synchro DB Single-arm Overhead Squats, 70 / 50lb
    75 GHD Sit-ups – Total
    100ft Synchro Sandbag Lunges, 100 / 70lb
    Time Cap: 34 Minutes

Individual Event 3

  • For time:10 Wallballs, 20 / 14lb
    50 GHD Sit-ups
    20 Wallballs
    40 DB Single-arm OH Squat, 70 / 50lb
    30 Wallballs
    30 Ring Muscle-ups
    40 Wallballs
    200 Double-unders
    50 Wallballs
    10 DB Clean & Jerks, 70 / 50lb
    Time Cap: 25 Minutes

Team Event 4

  • For time:Buy-in: 44 Synchro Chest-to-Bar Pull-upsRight into…

    11-9-7-5 Worm Clean and Jerks
    120-yard Shuttle Run (Individually F/M/F/M)
    Time Cap: 10 Minutes

Individual Event 4

  • For Time120 yd Shuttle Run
    16 Snatches, 175 / 120lb
    36 Chest-to-Bar Pull-ups
    160 yd Shuttle Run
    36 Chest-to-Bar Pull-ups
    16 Snatches, 175 / 120lb
    120 yd Shuttle Run
    Time Cap: 10 Minutes
 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Photo Credit: Ava Kitzi

 
FAR EAST THROWDOWN
   

Day 2 of the Far East Throwdown is almost complete. Day 3 will end with two men, women and teams earning a spot to the CrossFit Games later this summer. The final day’s events will start at 6:00 PM PT tonight.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here is the leaderboard through event 3, midway through the second day of competition. Event 3 is wrapping up, check out the full leaderboard link below for complete up-to-date information.

  1. Roman Khrennikov – 296 | Seung Yeon Choi – 300 | KT CrossFit Kolesnikov Team – 400
  2. Nasser Alruwayeh – 280 | Seher Kaya – 264 | CrossFit Yas Black – 365
  3. Artur Semenov – 268 | Omer Reshef – 264 | CrossFit Alioth – 345
  4. Andrey Fedotov – 240 | Shahad Budebs – 256 | L7 CrossFit Ba Ke Si Formosa – 285
  5. Aleksandr Ilin – 224 | Dema Zebdieh – 244 | CrossFit We Can Do It Team Busan – 285
  6. Morteza Sedaghat – 214 | Dawon Jung – 232 | CrossFit Mobilus Chinatown Sour Patch Kids – 270
  7. Ilyas Kulier – 208 | Yuko Sakuyama – 220 | CrossFit Atlantic WOD Friends – 270
  8. Ant Haynes – 206 | Bracha Teerawanitsan – 201 | MVMT CrossFit 255
  9. Vladislav Zakhovaev – 192 | Flo Wong – 194 | Soyuz CrossFit Terfit – 255
  10. Rusland Miftakhov – 188 | Minjeong Kim – 177 | CrossFit Erada Team Qatar – 230

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 5 — 10:00 AM GMT+9 (Sun)  | 6:00 PM PT (Sat) | 2:00 AM BST (Sun)
  • Individual Event 5 — 11:00 AM GMT+9 (Sun) | 7:00 AM PT (Sat) | 3:00 AM BST (Sun)
  • Team Event 6 — 1:40 PM GMT+9 (Sun) | 9:40 PM PT (Sat) | 5:40 AM BST (Sun)
  • Individual Event 6 — 2:35 PM GMT+9 (Sun) | 10:35 PM PT (Sat) | 6:35 AM BST (Sun)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 3 Events

Team Event 5

  • For time:
    50 Handstand Push-Ups W/ Handstand Hold
    50 Synchro Wallbals (20/14)
    Run 400m (A) / Row 500m (B)
    50 GHD Sit-Ups W/ Hanging Hold
    50 Synchro Toes to Bars
    Row 500m (A) / Run 400m (B)
    Relay FF-MM
    Time Cap: 22 minutes

Individual Event 5

  • For time:
    40 Handstand Push-Ups
    40 Wall-Ball Shots 20/14lb
    40 DB Snatches 70/50lb
    Run 1,200m
    40 GHD Sit-ups
    40 Toes to Bars
    40 Box Jump Overs 24/20″
    Time Cap: 20 minutes

Team Event 6

  • For time:
    50-ft Worm Lunges
    40 Worm Cleans
    30 Worm Synchro Burpees
    40 Worm Thrusters
    50-ft Worm Lunge
    Time Cap: 12 minutes

Individual Event 6

  • For Time :50 Double DB Deadlifts (100/70)
    100-ft Double DB Walking Lunges
    150-ft Farmer’s Carry
    Time Cap: 9 minutes
 
BY THE NUMBERS

0 – Times Roman Khrennikov has been to the NOBULL CrossFit Games in person, which is most likely going to change this season.

8 – Number of men competing at the Granite Games who have been to the Games as individuals, one with team. All together, they have 28 CrossFit Games appearances. Seventeen of those individual appearances belong to just three men: Brent Fikowski (6), Travis Mayer (6), and Timothy Paulson (5).

231 – Pounds that Kuwait’s Nasser Alruwayeh weighs, who sits second after two events and within a qualifying spot for the 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games.

310 – The number in pounds that Evan Nathan from CrossFit Hype lifted to set the new record for the Team Snatch Ladder, topping Tola Morakinyo’s 309 from CrossFit Reykjavik.

355 – The number in pounds that Anthony Davis lifted in the Barbell Complex at the Granite Games. He currently has the world record for this event, besting Tudor Magda and Griffin Roelle.

? – Number of drinks senior editor Joe Genetin-Pilawa had last night.

 
Your Coffee is ready.