Your Coffee is ready.

Mal O’Brien Holds Lead as Patrick Vellner Falls

 
Morning Chalk Up

August 5   |   POWERED BY

TYRSportInc._1657135603 (3)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up. The 2022 NOBULL CrossFit Games are here, and we will have you covered for everything and anything you need to know.

Note: The Morning Chalk Up will not be publishing the newsletter August 8-12, as we will be taking some much needed R&R, but we’ll be back in action the following week, so don’t go anywhere.

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
   

Day 2 Lay of the Land

The second day of the 16th annual NOBULL CrossFit Games in Madison, WI is over. Over the next three days, there will be nine individual events, seven team events, and five age group and adaptive events to crown the fittest athletes on earth.

Today, the individuals only tackled one event (the weather delayed “Shuttle to Overhead”).

How Event 2 was scored: Unlike a traditional CrossFit event that awards 100 points for the highest performance, event 2 is awarding 100 points for the fastest accumulated run time as well as for most jerks.

  • This isn’t the first time the CrossFit Games has scored different portions of an event. Two big examples are the 2013 half marathon row which scored the first 2K portion as well as the entire row, and Pendleton 1 in 2012 where the checkpoint 150m into the run was scored as well as the entire event.
  • Given how Event 2 is structured — three AMRAP intervals with running and max rep jerks — it’s a little unorthodox. Athletes won’t really know their cumulative run time compared to other athletes in their heat or across the field so it’s hard to know where to make-up time. Whereas, in a straight run, it’s pretty obvious, just beat the athlete out front and the 100 points is yours.

One big number: 2,187 – That’s the number of days since Ricky Garard had set foot on the CrossFit Games floor back in 2017, up until this year.

For the statisticians: 

How to stay in the know: 

  • Make sure to follow our live blog, which will be aggregating the top stories and news on the ground.
  • Set a reminder to watch our Day 3 recap with special guests James Hobart and Kari Pearce.
  • How to watch and schedule of events in your local time zone
  • Subscribe to our Instagram and YouTube.

Today’s top stories: A few stories to help kick off the games.

  • Check out our full recap of day two for the individuals as they made up one event due to a weather delay on what was supposed to be a rest day
  • Justin Bergh addressed the judging issues at Thursday’s press conference, stating he thinks him and his team are in a good place moving forward
  • Mal O’Brien held strong in day two as five-time returning champion Tia-Clair Toomey made up ground after a tough first day
  • Patrick Vellner had a very tough second day as it looks like Ricky Garard is still the man to beat in Madison heading into the third day of competition
  • Our very own Preslie Hirsch was on the ground today in Madison and she spoke to some fans about how they killed time before the events kicked off, and as usual, lots of working out was involved
  • Is this a comeback story for the ages? Garard spoke about his return to Madison in today’s press conference and we have all the quotes for you from the Australian

One last thing: It only took one event on day two for Tia-Clair Toomey to climb the leaderboard. She took 19th on the run portion of the event, but first in the lifting portion (unofficially). Heading into Day 3 she’s in third behind teens Mal O’Brien and Emma Lawson as of CrossFit’s leaderboard before press deadline.

 
SPONSORED TYRSportInc._1657135603 (3)
TYR CXT-1 Trainer Available for Pre-Order

TYR CXT-1 Trainer Available for Pre-Order

Pre-order the shoes that over half the elite female and male athletes in Madison are wearing on the competition floor.

Powered from the ground up, the CXT-1 Trainer from TYR is designed to take on the most rigorous competitions and training regiments. You’ll have the ultimate base for any movement, with responsive and durable support that reacts to the energy you put in.

  • Our favorite features: The patent-pending Stability Platform offers incredible back heel support while your foot sits deep in the shoe, enhancing grip and strength in any WOD. The Rope Gripper and Wall Glide have also been specifically engineered in the arch and heel areas for rope climbs and wall handstands.

Don’t miss out, reserve your size now.

 
STATS

Leaderboards

The first event kicks off at 9:00 AM CT for individuals, with teams following at 11:00 AM. Each day, we will have the top athlete scores across all divisions detailed below. Only individuals and teams are competing today. This leaderboard will update throughout the competition.

Individuals and Teams

  1. Ricky Garard – 461 | Mallory O’Brien – 422 | CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue – 367
  2. Justin Medeiros – 398 | Emma Lawson – 410 | CrossFit Invictus – 355
  3. Roman Khrennikov – 386 | Tia-Clair Toomey – 406 | CrossFit Mayhem Freedom – 352
  4. Lazar Đukić – 353 | Kristi Eramo O’Connell – 383 | CrossFit Mayhem Independence – 319
  5. Patrick Vellner – 340 | Haley Adams – 377 | CrossFit Reykjavík – 292
  6. Jeffrey Adler – 334 | Danielle Brandon – 377 | CrossFit Selwyn – 283
  7. Nick Mathew – 313 | Arielle Loewen – 377 | CrossFit Omnia Black – 262
  8. Noah Ohlsen – 311 | Alexis Raptis – 341 | 8th Day CrossFit Black – 261
  9. Uldis Upenieks – 296 | Brooke Wells – 312 | CrossFit Taranis LifeTree – 244
  10. Samuel Kwant – 292 | Thuridur Erla Helgadottir – 304 | CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy – 242

Age Groups

14-15

  1. Rj Mestre – 290 | Lucy McGonigle – 240
  2. Yousef Diab – 250 | Rylee Beebe – 230
  3. Tal Simson – 250 | Caroline Sabatini – 210

16-17

  1. Johan Roberts – 230 | Olivia Kerstetter – 260
  2. Caleb McClure – 220 | Sophia Shaft – 210
  3. Ty Jenkins – 210 | Trista Smith – 210

35-39

  1. Rogelio Gamboa – 220 | Aneta Tucker – 250
  2. Nick Roberts – 210 | Chyna Cho – 220
  3. Josh Marunde – 200 | Christelle El Debs – 220

40-44

  1. Rudolph Berger – 250 | Jenn Ryan – 260
  2. Alexandre Jolivet – 230 | Kelly Friel – 250
  3. Michael Laverriere – 220 | Rebecca Voigt Miller – 240

45-49

  1. Mike Kern – 270 | Merituuli Kallio – 210
  2. Vlad Liashkevich – 270 | Marina Novelli – 200
  3. Jason Grubb – 260 | Ali Crawford – 190

50-54

  1. Eirik Solen – 270 | Cheryl Brost – 250
  2. Richard Stevenson – 230 | Kim Purdy – 230
  3. Sean Patrick – 220 | Nathalie Connors – 230

55-59

  1. Mike Egan – 260 | Joanne McCullough – 260
  2. Leonardo Wernersbach Lima – 250 | Leigh Coates – 250
  3. Antonio Boldrini – 210 | Alexia Fineman – 190

60-64

  1. Shannon Aiken – 250 | Mary Beth Prodromides – 260
  2. Christian Galy – 240 | Patricia McGill – 190
  3. Tom Fameree – 230 | Shelly Chapple – 180

65+

  1. Cal Cherrington – 260 | Pia Gund – 280
  2. Ken Ogden – 210 | Marcia Yager – 240
  3. John Mariotti – 190 | Patti Walkover – 190

Upper Extremity

  1. Casey Acree – 300 | Camille Vigneault – 250
  2. Josue Maldonado – 225 | Christina Mazzullo – 230
  3. Samuel Pera – 125 | Anne-Laure Coutenceau – 170

Lower Extremity

  1. Charles Pienaar – 190 | Valerie Cohen – 300
  2. Elliot Young – 190 | Amy Bream – 185
  3. Rogan Dean – 185 | Natalie Rovirosa – 165

Neuromuscular

  1. Brett Horchar – 275 | Morgan Johnson – 275
  2. Jeremie PERERA – 185 | Alyssa Kobela – 230
  3. Kevin Maijer – 150 | Lauren Taylor – 145
 
BY THE NUMBERS

Day 2 By the Numbers

0 – Event wins that Justin Medeiros, who won the 2021 CrossFit Games, has so far this year heading into the third day of competition.

2 – number of 1st place finishes, through two days of Team events, by CrossFit Navy Blue with a win Wednesday in ‘Biker Bob’ and a win Thursday  in ‘Run’ with a time of 18:23.72. CrossFit Navy Blue starts Day 3 in Red and White jerseys.

5 – place CrossFit Reykjavik enters into Friday after moving from 17th on Day 1 with a 4th in ‘Strong’ & 3rd in ‘Fast’.

13 – lowest placement of the Games through Day 2 by CrossFit Mayhem Freedom in the ‘Run’ event with a time of 19:09.53.

1,325 – Top lift total for CrossFit Milford in the Event ‘Strong’ that was moved to Thursday. Emma Ferreira: 215 Jerk, Christine Middleton: 315 Front Squat, Devin O’Neil: 385 Jerk, Tony Facchini: 410 Front Squat.

 
SPONSORED
   

Variety is the spice of life: Can’t decide which flavor of FITAID Energy to try? Now you don’t have to. FITAID just launched a new variety pack so you can experience the tropical Mango Sorbet, sweet Peach Mandarin, complex Blackberry Pineapple, and floral Raspberry Hibiscus all for yourself. Try all four electric flavors now for 10% off.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

#ChalkUpAtTheGames Fan Photo of the Day

Photo from @genna2020

Check out the Fan Experience volunteer team getting their flex on 💪 #fittestvolunteersonearth.

To be our featured fan photo of the day, post a picture to your Instagram feed with the hashtag #chalkupatthegames. Show us your best fan shirts, signs, gear, affiliate shirts, athlete pics or group shots. 📸

 
CROSSFIT GAMES

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on YouTube as well as embedded on MorningChalkUp.com.

  • Individual Event 5: The Capitol — 7:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM CT | 3:00 PM GMT+1
  • Age Groups and Adaptive — 7:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM CT | 3:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 5: TBA — 9:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM CT | 5:00 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 6: TBA — 11:00 AM PT | 1:00 PM CT | 7:00 PM GMT+1
  • Age Groups and Adaptive — 1:00 PM PT | 3:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM GMT+1
  • Team Event 6: TBA — 1:00 PM PT | 3:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM GMT+1
  • Individual Event 7: 3:00 PM PT | 5:00 PM CT | 11:00 PM GMT+1

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Friday’s Workouts: Workout descriptions for individuals and teams only.

Individual Event 5 – The Capitol

  • For time:
    20 Pig flips
    3.5-mile run
    200-m Jerry bag carry
    200-m Husafell carry
    No time cap
    Women: 350-lb Pig, (2) 70-lb Jerry bags, 150-lb Husafell
    Men: 510-lb Pig, (2) 100-lb Jerry bags, 200-lb Husafell

Team Event 5 – TBA

Individual Event 6 – TBA

Team Event 6 – TBA

Individual Event 7 – TBA

 
RESOURCES
   

Hanging out in Madison

Hanging out in Madison for the CrossFit Games week? Here are Morning Chalk Up’s guides to getting the most out of your week.

 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
12/2 - 12/4: WheelWod Games (Raleigh, NC)
12/3 - 12/4: Torino Challenge (Moncalieri (TO), Italy)
12/3: Reindeer Rumble (Ocala, FL)
12/9 - 12/11: Fall Series Throwdown (Desio, Italy)
12/17: The Midwest Championship (Warrensburg, MO)
1/15 - 1/31: Athens Throwdown Qualifiers (Athens, Greece)
1/21 - 1/22: Modena Challenge: Beginner and Master (Modena, Italy)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.