Your Coffee is ready.

Rich Froning To Go Masters Next Year?

 
Morning Chalk Up

May 20   |   POWERED BY

AscentProtein_1594044041 (1)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up semifinals edition. In today’s newsletter, we break down the competition from Australia, which has already concluded day 1, while Europe and North America kick off competition today.

In today’s edition:

  • Rich Froning delivers a definitive statement on his CrossFit future
  • Grass or grain fed beef, which is better fuel?
  • Torian Pro refresher as day one concludes
  • Everything you need to know about Syndicate Crown and the Lowlands Throwdown

For a complete schedule in your local time zone, alerts, leaderboard and story download our iOS or Android app.

 
QUOTE OF THE DAY + Send us a Quote

“Courage is fire, and bullying is smoke.” - Benjamin Disraeli

 
CROSSFIT GAMES
  Rich Froning Going Masters in 2023? 

MEMBER EXCLUSIVE

Rich Froning Going Masters in 2023?

If you’re planning to watch the teams throw down at Semifinals this weekend, it’s no shock that most of us will have our eyes glued to CrossFit Mayhem Freedom at the Syndicate Crown.

With the addition of three-time individual Games athlete Sam Cournoyer to the roster, some may argue this could be the most competitive Mayhem Freedom team to date. So what do teammates Rich Froning and Andrea Nisler think?

“I won’t disagree, I don’t know if Rich has anything to add,” Nisler started. “As fit as Chase (Hill) was, Sam is fitter so you can definitely make that argument…” Froning continued.

But with this powerhouse preparing to start its in-person competition season at the Syndicate Crown, the question about how long the team will stay together is raised. Froning has been linked to retirement rumors for years and CrossFit water cooler talk has been impossible to miss.

The question is what does the man who has four individual titles and five team titles think. Froning delivered the first definitive answer so far to date in speaking to Bottom Line host Lauren Kalil in an exclusive YouTube video about his future after 2022.

Continue Reading...
 
SPONSORED AscentProtein_1594044041 (1)
Are You Sure This Is Plant-Based Protein?

Are You Sure This Is Plant-Based Protein?

Just when you thought our plant-based protein couldn’t get any better.

Introducing Ascent’s new Chocolate Peanut Butter Plant-Based Protein. This new flavor of their vegan protein powder tastes so delicious, you won’t believe it’s plant-based!

For a limited time, order any full size plant-based protein powder and get a FREE Ascent blender bottle with your purchase.

 
SPEED READS

In case you missed it: Lauren Kalil, the host of The Bottom Line, spoke to analysts Brian Friend, Tommy Marquez and Patrick Clark about who will qualify for the Games from the Lowlands Throwdown.

Memorial WOD: Buffalo’s CrossFit community will be coming together in a sign of unity to host a memorial WOD for the victims lost in the recent supermarket shooting. For more information please go to their Instagram page for further details.

Power couple: CrossFit partners in life Jamie Simmonds and Elliot Simmonds have officially joined the NOBULL team.

Call out: The Lonestar Legends Competition is looking for volunteers come June 25-26 in Dallas, TX.

Call out #2: The Can West Games is looking for volunteers as well to help with the July 15-17 event in Port Coquitlam, Canada.

Retreat with Lauren: The one and only Lauren Fisher is hosting a fitness retreat in Spain Sept. 17-24. Sign us up please. 🤩 🇪🇸

 
LIFESTYLE
  Grass-Fed or Grain-Fed Beef, Which is Better for Us, the Environment, and the Animal? 

MEMBER EXCLUSIVE

Grass-Fed or Grain-Fed Beef, Which is Better for Us, the Environment, and the Animal?

Grass-fed beef has gained attention and grown in popularity as a result of a number of different trends and fads as well as growing environmental and animal welfare concerns.

It is supposedly a healthier way to consume red meat that is also more environmentally friendly. This might leave you wondering what the actual differences are.

When you see meat that’s labeled “grass-fed,” it means that after these animals are weaned, they eat only grass—and whatever other green stuff they might find growing where they graze—for the rest of their lives.

Virtually all cattle start out eating grass. But when they’re 6-12 months old, most of the cattle raised in the US are sent to feedlots where they eat corn and other grains for the remainder of their lives. This fattens them up more quickly which results in meat that is higher in fat content and animals that can be processed at a younger age.

Continue Reading...
 
TORIAN PRO
  Grass-Fed or Grain-Fed Beef, Which is Better for Us, the Environment, and the Animal? 

The Torian Pro semifinal kicked off down under while most of you (but not us) were sleeping. By the time you’re reading this, all events for day one have concluded and competition will resume later this evening (see below for a detailed schedule).

  • Missed the competition while you were sleeping? Subscribe to our YouTube and get notified when our recap goes live at approximately 4:45 AM PT.

A few quick highlights:

  • Tia-Clair Toomey hasn’t skipped a beat, notching two straight event wins. Impressively, after finishing her 1500m run in just 7:19, she entered the arena in event 1 and completed 15 unbroken muscle-ups. Not only did she improved on her 2014 Regionals Event 5 time by 7:34, but her 3:32 finish was faster than nine male athletes.
  • Ricky Garard’s first-place finish in event 2 was enough to bump him into a third-place qualifying spot.
  • Ellie Turner has some ground to make up. Currently tied for fifth, it will be no easy task for the Games rookie to move into a qualifying position especially with veterans like Toomey, Saunders and Greene occupying the top three after day one.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The top 10 male, female and teams after day 1 of competition. Check out the full leaderboard for the point spread, cutoffs and more efficiency stats.

  1. Jay Crouch – 188 | Tia-Clair Toomey – 200 | CrossFit Urban Energy – 196 
  2. Bayley Martin – 188 | Jamie Simmonds – 184 | CrossFit Selwyn – 184 
  3. Ricky Garard – 180 | Kara Saunders – 180 | CrossFit Awaside – 184 
  4. Matt Mcleod – 164 | Georgia Pryer – 172 | CrossFit EXF – 184 
  5. Royce Dunne – 160 | Ellie Turner – 160 | CrossFit Project Bayside Black – 168 
  6. James Newbury – 144 | Gemma Hauck – 160 | Plus64 CrossFit Steel – 156 
  7. Bayden Brown – 140 | Bailey Rogers – 152 | CrossFit Underway – 144 
  8. Rees Machell – 133 | Maddie Sturt – 140 | CrossFit Woolgoolga – 144 
  9. Kurtis Jackson – 124 | Danielle Ford – 136 | CrossFit Torian – 136 
  10. Joel Molina – 121 | Georgia Welsman – 132 | Plus64 CrossFit Onyx – 125

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 9:15 AM AEST (Sat) | 4:15 PM PT (Fri) | 1:15 AM BST (Sat)
  • Team Event 4 — 11:15 AM AEST (Sat) | 6:10 PM PT (Fri) | 3:10 AM BST (Sat)
  • Individual Event 3 — 2:20 PM AEST (Sat) | 9:20 PM PT (Fri) | 6:20 AM BST (Sat)
  • Individual Event 4 — 4:50 PM AEST (Sat) | 11:50 PM PT (Fri) | 8:50 AM BST (Sat)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • 3 rounds for time:
    15 bar muscle ups (4 person sync)
    15/10 echo bike calories (4 person sync)
    15 clean and jerks 65/43kg (4 person sync)

Team Event 3

  • Snatch Ladder (Weight in kilograms)
    M: 84/88/93/98/102/107/111/115/120/124 (11th platform staged at 129)
    F: 61/63/65/68/70/72/75/77/79/81 (11th platform staged at 84)

Individual Event 3

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 cleans + 2 front squats + 1 jerk (shoulder-to-overhead)

Individual Event 4

  • In 2 minutes:
    15 chest to bar pull-ups
    15/10 echo bike cals
    Max snatches 47/34kg
 
SYNDICATE CROWN
  Grass-Fed or Grain-Fed Beef, Which is Better for Us, the Environment, and the Animal? 

In just a couple of hours, the Syndicate Crown kicks off in Knoxville, TN. Full details on that are included below. Also, none other than Rich Froning, who will be competing with Mayhem Freedom, just dropped a bomb on his future plans in an exclusive interview with Lauren Kalil, the host of The Bottom Line.

How to catch up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 10:00 AM PT, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of quarterfinals.

  1. Justin Medeiros | Alexis Raptis | CrossFit Mayhem Freedom
  2. Scott Panchik | Kristi Eramo O’Connell | CrossFit Mayhem Justice
  3. Griffin Roelle | Paige Semenza | CrossFit Overtake Team Density
  4. Will Moorad |Arielle Loewen | CrossFit CLT
  5. Jayson Hopper | Haley Adams | 8th Day CrossFit Black
  6. Cole Greashaber | Olivia Sulek | CrossFit Hard Knox
  7. Ben Smith | Christine Kolenbrander | Three Kings CrossFit North Alpha
  8. Tudor Magda | Kristine Best | CrossFit SDA – Some Dudes Army
  9. Garrett Clark | Emily White | TTT CrossFit
  10. Taylor Self | Madison McElhaney | 3 Bridges CrossFit

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 10:00 AM PT | 1:00 PM ET | 6:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 1 — 11:59 AM PT | 2:59 PM ET | 7:59 PM BST
  • Team Event 2 — 2:29 PM PT | 5:29 PM ET | 10:29 PM BST
  • Individual Event 2 — 3:23 PM PT | 6:23 PM PT | 11:23 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • Snatch Ladder
    Men: 185-195-205-215-225-235-245-255-265-275 lb.
    Women: 135-140-145-150-155-160-165-170-175-180 lb.

Individual Event 1

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 cleans + 2 front squats + 1 jerk (shoulder-to-overhead)

Team Event 2

  • 4 intervals for distance:
    20 4-way Synchro Wall Balls (30/20)
    15 Worm Deadlifts
    20 Worm Push Press
    Worm Lunge for distance in time remaining

Individual Event 2

  • For time:
    30 Cal Echo bike
    Tank Push 75’
    30 Double Dumbbell Burpee Deadlift (50/35)
    Tank Push 75’
    20 Cal Echo bike
    Tank Push 75’
    20 Double Dumbbell Hang Snatch (50/35)
    Tank Push 75’
    10 Cal Echo bike
    Tank Push 75’
    10 Devil Press (50/35)
 
LOWLANDS THROWDOWN
  Grass-Fed or Grain-Fed Beef, Which is Better for Us, the Environment, and the Animal? 

The Lowlands Throwdown started day one of competition in the wee hours of the morning. Depending on what time you’re opening today’s newsletter, the first individual and team events are likely already completed with one more apiece.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all information below.

The topic on everyone’s mind: How does Sara Sigmundsdottir perform?

  • She enters Lowlands the number three seed in Europe coming out of Quarterfinals after an equally strong 21st finish in the Open.
  • She appears to have recovered well after a pre-season scare at Wodapalooza where she withdrew over potential re-injury concerns, but has she recovered enough to take grab one of the five spots?
  • The silver lining is if she finishes 6th, 7th or 8th, she’ll move to the Last Chance Qualifier which is online where she’s traditional performed very well.

Quick catch-up: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition kicked off at 4:00 AM PT, but the first events have yet to conclude so there are no scores to tabulate. Here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of quarterfinals.

  1. Björgvin Karl Guðmundsson | Gabriela Migała | CrossFit Zarautz Training Culture
  2. Lazar Đukić | Sara Sigmundsdottir | CrossFit Reykjavik
  3. Moritz Fiebig | Lucy Campbell | CrossFit Oslo Purple Red
  4. Sam Stewart | Matilde Garnes | CrossFit Portti
  5. Fabian Beneito | Laura Horvath | Blueprint CrossFit Team AOD
  6. Uldis Upenieks | Karin Freyová | CrossFit Caen
  7. Adrian Mundwiler | Elena Carratala | CrossFit Minimes
  8. Kevin Jurs | Sanahuja Claudia Gluck | CrossFit 2150 Team Norce BL
  9. Enrico Zenoni | Megan Lovegrove | CrossFit Grillen
  10. Haraldur Holgersson | Ella Wunger | CrossFit Walleye

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 1 — 3:00 AM PT | 6:00 AM ET | 12:00 PM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 1 — 4:00 AM PT | 7:00 AM ET | 1:00 PM GMT+2
  • Team Event 2 — 6:30 AM PT | 9:30 AM ET | 3:30 PM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 2 — 7:45 AM PT | 10:45 AM ET | 4:45 PM GMT+2

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 1 Events

Team Event 1

  • For time, starting with the female pair:
    40 thrusters, 43 kg
    6 legless rope climbs
    30 thrusters, 43 kg
    4 legless rope climbs
    20 thrusters, 43 kg
    2 legless rope climbs
    Immediately followed by the male pair (thrusters at 61 kg)
    Time Cap: 20 minutes

Individual Event 1

  • 10 rounds for time:
    1 legless rope climb, 15 foot
    Run (170 foot)
    Time Cap: 11 minutes

Team Event 2

  • For time:
    5000-meter row at 5:00, 10.00, 15.00 and 20.00
    42m sandbag carry relay 70/45 kg
    Time Cap: 25 minutes

Individual Event 2

  • For Total Time:
    1200m air runner
    3 rounds:
    12 axle bar deadlifts 121/89 kg
    6m out and back handstand walk
    1200m air runner
    3 rounds:
    12 axle bar deadlifts 121/89 kg
    6m out and back handstand walk
    600m concept2 row
    Time Cap: 22 minutes
 
THINGS TO...
 

...LEARN

What Makes the Best Pre-Workout?

Do you really need your pre-workout shake? A new study put a group of athletes through 5 sets of 10 bench press reps. Once after consuming a high dose of caffeine and, 72 hours later, after drinking a popular pre-workout shake. Which came out on top?

SHAKES ARE DELICIOUS THOUGH.
   

SPONSORED

...DO

Save Big on Beam's Dream Powder

Beam's Dream Powder is packed with zzz-promoting ingredients, like nano CBD, reishi, magnesium, l-theanine, and melatonin. Swirls of cinnamon mix with creamy chocolate for the guilt-free hot cocoa of your dreams – it has only 5 calories and no added sugar. Save 35% on your first order and 20% on recurring orders with code "MCU".

SLEEP LIKE A CHAMP.
   
 

...TRY

Some Turkish Sit-Ups

You know the Turkish Get Up, but it's cousin, the Turkish Sit-Up, is also a great core and shoulder stability exercise. Grab a kettlebell and follow along with this breakdown and give it a try.

SUMMER SHRED.
   
 

...SNAG

A $70 Pair of The Nano X or X1

This is not a drill. This week, you can get your hands on a pair of Reebok Nano X or X1 for only $70. No code needed, just head to the link below and pick up a pair (or two).

LAST DAY TO SAVE.
   
 

...WATCH

The Mountain vs. The CrossFitter

We hope it turned out better for the Buttery Bros than it did for the viper. Marz and Heber went to Iceland to go head to head with former World's Strongest Man Hafthor Bjornsson and tried their hand at becoming Vikings.

ROLL THE FOOTAGE.
 
HIGHLIGHTS

Celebrating a PR, hosting a fundraiser, this, that, or otherwise. Send us a tip.

  • 💍 Congratulations to former CrossFit athlete and current Olympic weightlifter Alyssa Ritchey and her fiancé Ben on their engagement.
  • Congratulations to team athlete Allison Weiss from CrossFit Invictus in San Diego, CA on the 175 pound/79kg snatch PR.
  • 😱 Syndicate Crown competitor Roran Scott from CrossFit Boynton Beach in Boynton Beach, FL puts 300 pounds/136kg overhead for a split jerk PR.
  • Alex Gazan of Underdogs Athletics hit a snatch PR of 180 pounds/81.5kg.
  • Mike Aidala from V23 Athletics in Denver, CO shows impressive body control in this push-pull barbell test. Please… don’t try this at home.

When CrossFit Homeward in Chapel Hill, NC discovered their gym’s building was going to be demolished, they needed to find a new location, and fast. But as many affiliate owners and gym goers know, this is not an easy, nor an inexpensive task. To help finance the gym’s moving, relocation and renovation project, CrossFit Homeward is hosting the Homeward Together fundraising event on Saturday, June 4.

  • The event includes a raffle, partner competition, and skill seminars offered throughout the summer as well.
  • Donations can be made from now until July 31 at the Homeward Together GoFundMe page.
 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
12/9 - 12/11: Fall Series Throwdown (Desio, Italy)
12/17: The Midwest Championship (Warrensburg, MO)
1/15 - 1/31: Athens Throwdown Qualifiers (Athens, Greece)
1/21 - 1/22: Modena Challenge: Beginner and Master (Modena, Italy)
2/4 - 2/5: Modena Challenge: Intermediate and Rx (Modena, Italy)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.