Read the latest Morning Chalk Up articles on BarBend
Your Coffee is ready.

Week one of Semifinals ends today with 25 individuals punching tickets to the Games

 
Morning Chalk Up

May 21   |   POWERED BY

Reebok_1627232945

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up premium subscriber edition.

In today’s edition:

  • North America East Day Three came and went and Jeffrey Adler and Emma Cary held the lead
  • Meanwhile, down in South Africa, Gilmari Reyneke and Jason Smith continue to top the leaderboard
  • By the end of today, 25 individuals will have punched their tickets to Madison
 
NORTH AMERICA EAST SEMIFINAL
   

The 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Games North America East Semifinal in Orlando, Florida kick off its final day of competition for individuals today. The teams wrapped up their competition on Saturday. Full details on that are included below.

How to catch up: 

  • 19-year-old Emma Cary is holding in first place heading into the final day.
  • Moving day on the men’s side was nothing short of a show. Read what happened on day two for the individuals.
  • See the fittest states in North America East.
  • 10 stats from Individual Event 3 “Linda.”
  • Will Brooke Wells make it to her Ninth CrossFit Games?
  • Meet four boxes with three individual athletes competing at North America East.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition starts at 9:00 AM ET, but here are the top 10 individual athletes going into the final day and the 10 teams who earned their ticket to Madison this summer.

  1. Jeffrey Adler – 449 | Emma Cary – 428 | CrossFit East Nashville PRVN – 573
  2. Jayson Hopper – 434 | Amanda Barnhart – 422 | CrossFit Move Fast Lift Heavy 247 – 549
  3. Dallin Pepper – 404 | Emma Lawson – 405 | AB CrossFit – Mayhem – 513
  4. Roman Khrennikov – 369 | Danielle Brandon – 404 | CrossFit Mayhem Independence – 489
  5. Samuel Cournoyer – 392 | Paige Powers – 390 | CrossFit Krypton — 486
  6. Will Moorad – 384 | Alexis Raptis – 382 | CrossFit CLT The Grit Haus – 486
  7. Alex Vigneault – 155 | Feeroozeh Saghafi – 325 | CrossFit OBA – 471
  8. James Sprague – 384 | Caroline Stanley — 306 | TTT CrossFit Black– 450
  9. Luke Parker – 349 | Amanda Fischer —293 | CrossFit PSC Invasion – 450
  10. James Sprague – 336 | Paige Semenza—282 | Crossfit Milford Team Conquer – 402

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Individual Event 6 — 6:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM ET | 2:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 7 — 10:30 AM PT | 1:30 PM ET | 6:30 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Day 4 Tests

Individual Test 6

For time:

  • 20 overhead squats (185/125)
  • 500-m row
  • 3 handstand walk pirouettes
  • 2 seated legless rope climbs
  • 20 strict chest-to-wall handstand push-ups
  • 2 seated legless rope climbs
  • 3 handstand walk pirouettes
  • 500-m row
  • 20 overhead squats (185/125)

Time cap: 15 minutes (men); 16 minutes (women)

Individual Test 7

3 rounds for time of:

  • 15/10 Echo Bike calories
  • 20 toes-to-bars
  • 60-foot sandbag bear-hug carry (200/150lb)

Time cap: 6 minutes

 
AFRICA SEMIFINAL
   

The REBEL Renegade Games, an official 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Games Semifinal in Johannesburg, South Africa began its final day of competition in the early morning hours for those of us in the US. Full details on that are included below.

How to catch up:

  • South Africa’s Mariska Smit, who competed on a team the last two seasons, sits in first place heading into day three.
  • Jason Smith held onto the lead in South Africa, Mayhem athlete Conrad Winnertz moved to third overall.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The last day of competition starts at 3:00 AM ET, but here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams going into day three. The leaderboard is currently not updated.

  1. Jason Smith – 408 | Mariska Smit – 420 | CrossFit FBDV Mayhem Africa – 390
  2. Justin Holliday – 367 | Michelle Basnett – 413 | Cape CrossFit Wolfpack – 370
  3. Conrad Winnertz – 356 | Gilmari Reyneke – 404 | CrossFit 10 Star Hybrids – 370
  4. Kealan Henry – 332 | Christina Livaditakis – 382 | CrossFit Tijger Valley Synergy – 340
  5. Dutoit Botha – 322 | Tanha Bouffe – 371 | CrossFit Juggernaut Unstoppable – 315
  6. Daniel Griesel – 318 | Emma Olley  – 364 | Pack Life CrossFit Wanderers – 265
  7. Darren Zurnamer – 310 | Gemma Rader – 349 | CrossFit Bounty – 235
  8. James Van Dongen – 310 | Megan Faul – 336 | Motley Crew CrossFit Red – 225
  9. Josh Kernot – 307 | Alicia Stoop – 321 | CrossFit 111 Relentless  – 215
  10. Ruan Potgieter – 305 | Megan Joy McDermott – 282 | Cape CrossFit Werewolves/Motley Crew CrossFit Blue (tied) – 205

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 5 — 12:00 AM PT | 3:00 AM ET | 8:00 AM BST
  • Individual Event 6 — 12:44 AM PT | 3:44 AM ET | 8:44 AM BST
  • Team Event 6 — 3:29 AM PT | 6:29 AM ET | 11:29 AM BST
  • Individual Event 7 — 4:34 AM PT | 7:34 AM ET | 12:34 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com.

Day 3 Tests

Team Test 5

1 minute max-rep cleans (275/195lb)

2 minutes rest1 min max-rep cleans (295/215lb)

2 minutes rest1 min max-rep cleans (315/235lb)

Individual Test 6 

For time:

  • 20 overhead squats (185/125)
  • 500-m row
  • 3 handstand walk pirouettes
  • 2 seated legless rope climbs
  • 20 strict chest-to-wall handstand push-ups
  • 2 seated legless rope climbs
  • 3 handstand walk pirouettes
  • 500-m row
  • 20 overhead squats (185/125lb)

Time cap: 15 minutes (men); 16 minutes (women)

Team Test 6

For time:

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 1 seated legless rope climb (each)
  • Men complete 10 strict chest-to-wall handstand push-ups (each)

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 2 legless rope climbs (each)
  • Men complete 15 strict handstand push-ups (each)

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats
  • Women complete 3 rope climbs each
  • Men complete 20 handstand push-ups each

Switch

  • 15 Worm burpees
  • 15 Worm squats

Time cap: 16 minutes

Individual Test 7 

3 rounds for time of:

  • 15/10 Echo Bike calories
  • 20 toes-to-bars
  • 60-foot sandbag bear-hug carry (200/150lb)

Time cap: 6 minutes

 
SPONSORED Reebok_1627232945
A Training Shoe You Can Actually Run In

A Training Shoe You Can Actually Run In

Believe it or not, there’s a training shoe you can actually run in. The Reebok NanoX3 is here, now with even more colorways.

Make a statement in your NanoX3’s that feature:

  • the all new Lift and Run chassis system, so you no longer need to change into your running shoes
  • A dome-shaped heel piece compresses under load when lifting to create a stable platform

Get your NanoX3’s today!

 
SEMIFINALS: BY THE NUMBERS

6 – Only 6 points separates 1st and 2nd place on the women’s side.
:23 – The average time it took athletes to finish their 8 snatches in Event 5.
300 – 3 total men snatched 300 pounds or more in Event 4.
10 – Emma Cary, Jeffrey Adler, and Dallin Pepper have finished all of the events on days one and two in the top 10.
1 – Sydney Wells got her 1st ever Semifinal event win.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Photo Credit: Ava Kitzi

 
THINGS TO...
 

...TRY

This Exercise If You Don’t Have a GHD

No GHD machine? No problem! Try this alternative from the Grown Strong program from Lauren Fisher. Watch out, these get spicy.

BRING THE SPICE.
     
 

...SNAG

Free Shipping on Your Favorite YETI Products

We all love YETI, from water bottles to mugs that ACTUALLY keep our coffee hot (or cold if you’re a cold brew lover), coolers, bags and more! When you spend $25 or more, you’ll get free shipping for a limited time. Don’t miss out on getting all the best products, without the shipping costs.

WE LOVE FREE SHIPPING.
     
 

...KNOW

Top Two Reasons Why People Get Burnt Out About Their Fitness Goals

Are you losing steam in your quest to achieve your fitness goals? You might be experiencing one of these two common causes for burn out.

REIGNITE THE FLAME.
 
 
LOCAL COMPETITIONS + Submit an Event
3/1 - 3/31: Sit Ups For Pups (Everywhere, Anywhere Online)
3/2: The LKW Games (Lake Waccamaw, North Carolina)
3/9: The Valkyrie Fitness Competition (Tampa, FL)
3/16: Upper Hunter Strongest Novice (Muswellbrook, Australia)
3/16: Oceanside CrossFit 1st Annual Shamwod & Shenanigains (Oceanside, Ca)
3/16: Shamwod & Shenanigains (Oceanside, Ca)
3/16: Shamwod & Shenanigains (oceanside, ca)
3/23 - 3/24: Beach Brawl (Spring) (Pensacola Beach, FL)
3/23: Masters Distinguished Games (Fort Wright, KY)
3/23: CFL Teen Take Over (Lorton, VA)
4/6: Girls Gone Rx Ohio (Lancaster, Ohio)
4/6 - 4/7: SeaDog Summer Showdown (Jupiter, Florida)
4/6: Girls Gone Rx Minnesota (Austin, Minnesota)
4/6: Girls Gone Rx Kentucky (Richmond, Kentucky)
4/6: Best Babes Decatur (Decatur, Alabama)
4/6: Best Babes 608 (Janesville, Wisconsin)
4/6: Best Babes South Carolina (Beufort, South Carolina)
4/6: Best Babes Houston (Houston, Texas)
4/6: Best Babes Wyoming (Cheyene, Wyoming)
4/6: War Off I-4 (Deland, FL)
4/6 - 4/7: No Pain No Game (Legnano, Italy)
4/6 - 4/7: Shack Team Edition (Rome, Italy)
4/6: Best Babes South Carolina (Beaufort, SC)
4/6: Best Babes Decatur (Decatur, AL)
4/6 - 4/7: Landifornian Battle (Seignosse, France)
4/6: Two Peas in a Pod: Mixed Gender Partner Comp (Burlington, MA)
4/6: Best Babes Tampa (Tampa, Florida)
4/13: Queens of Oly Rockledge (Rockledge, FL)
4/13: Queens of Oly East Tennessee (Bulls Gap, TN)
4/13: Fittest on Main (Boaz, AL)
4/19 - 4/21: Crash Crescendo (Spartanburg, SC)
4/20: Barbells For Bullies: Community Workout Savannah (Savnnah, Georgia, US)
4/20: Festivus Games @ CrossFit Plattsburgh (Plattsburgh, NY)
4/20: Festivus Games @ CrossFit Masiphumelele (Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa)
4/20: Festivus Games (Goderich, Canada)
4/20: Festivus Games (Clermont, FL)
4/20: Festivus Games @ The Gym – CrossFit Kilo (Cedar Falls, IA)
4/20: Festivus Games @ CBM Sirens (Caledonia, MS)
4/20: Festivus Games @ Coyote Valley (San Jose, CA)
4/20 - 4/21: Okanagan Valley Throwdown (Penticton, British Columbia)
4/20: The Fittest 4 (Sunshine Coast, Australia)
4/20: Embrace the Challenge (Mentor, Ohio)
4/20: Festivus Games @ CrossFit Pagosa (Pagosa Springs, CO)
4/20: First EVER Adaptive Festivus Games Competition (Waterford, United States)
4/20: Festivus Games (WAUKESHA, WI)
4/20 - 4/21: BGR Contest Spring Edition (Bergerac, France)
4/20 - 4/21: Okanagan Valley Throwdown (Penticton, British Columbia, Canada)

See all upcoming events

 
Your Coffee is ready.