Read the latest Morning Chalk Up articles on BarBend
Your Coffee is ready.

Tia-Clair Toomey and Justin Medeiros Top Day One of Semifinals

 
Morning Chalk Up

May 21   |   POWERED BY

Web

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up semifinals edition. Day one of the Syndicate Crown and the Lowlands Throwdown are in the books and day two of the Torian Pro just wrapped up. Here’s what you need to know. 

In today’s edition:

  • Tia-Clair Toomey dominated day two of the Torian Pro
  • Justin Medeiros leads Syndicate Crown with consistency
  • Uldis Upenieks can’t get Uber so bikes to Lowlands and wins event
  • Both Mayhem and Reykjavik sweep day 1

For a complete schedule in your local time zone, alerts, leaderboard and story download our iOS or Android app.

 
TORIAN PRO
   

Day two in Australia is wrapped up and if you’re in North America you were asleep during all the action (but we weren’t). The final day will kick off later this evening (see below for a detailed schedule).

  • Missed the competition while you were sleeping? Subscribe to our YouTube and get notified when our recap goes live at approximately 4:45 AM PT.

A few quick highlights:

  • Running away: That’s what Tia-Clair Toomey is doing with the competition down under, notching another two events wins to make it a perfect 400 so far. Not only that, but the queen of CrossFit finished event 4 in blazing speed, going unbroken on all snatches.
  • Ricky is back on top and now tied for first with Jay Crouch. They both sit 46 points ahead of second place. With only two events remaining, the fight for the third spot is going to be tight between Bayley Martin (318), Royce Dunne (304) and Bayden Brown (303).
  • For the women, the first for third is nearly as tight. Only 16 points separate Ellie Turner (336), Jamie Simmonds (332) and Maddie Sturt (320).

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The top 10 male, female and teams after day 2 of competition. Check out the full leaderboard for the point spread, cutoffs and more efficiency stats.

  1. Ricky Garard – 364 | Tia-Clair Toomey – 400 | CrossFit Urban Energy – 390
  2. Jay Crouch – 364 | Kara Saunders – 368 | CrossFit EXF – 375
  3. Bayley Martin – 318 | Ellie Turner – 336 | CrossFit Selwyn – 355
  4. Royce Dunne – 304 | Jamie Simmonds – 332 | CrossFit Awaside – 335
  5. Bayden Brown – 303 | Maddie Sturt – 320 | CrossFit Underway – 280
  6. Matt Mcleod – 247 | Bailey Rogers – 308 | CrossFit Project Bayside Black – 275
  7. Rees Machell – 238 | Gemma Hauck – 300 | Plus64 CrossFit Steel – 250
  8. Jake Douglas – 228 | Emily de Rooy – 263 | Plus64 CrossFit Onyx – 235
  9. Kosta Ilic – 204 | Elly Hutchens – 235 | CrossFit Torian – 220
  10. Matt Gilpin – 204 | Danielle Ford – 231 | Reebok CrossFit Frankston – 215

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 5 — 9:15 AM AEST (Sun) | 4:15 PM PT (Sat) | 1:15 AM BST (Sun)
  • Team Event 6 — 10:30 AM AEST (Sun) | 5:30 PM PT (Sat) | 2:30 AM BST (Sun)
  • Individual Event 5 — 1:05 PM AEST (Sun) | 8:05 PM PT (Sat) | 5:05 AM BST (Sun)
  • Individual Event 6 — 3:30 PM AEST (Sun) | 10:30 PM PT (Sun) | 7:30 AM BST (Sun)

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 3 Events

Team Event 5

  • In MF Pairs, for time:
    45-30-15
    Deadlift (sync) 102/70kg
    Handstand push ups (sync)
    The first MF pair will complete the workout, followed by the second pair

Team Event 6

  • For time:
    1,000/800m row
    100 double unders
    10 overhead squats 88/61kg
    Relay, FFMM

Individual Event 5

  • For time:
    21 strict deficit handstand push ups
    Husafell bag carry 180ft
    15 strict deficit handstand push ups
    Kettlebell farmers carry 180ft
    9 strict deficit handstand push ups
    Yoke carry 90ft

Individual Event 6

  • For time:
    1000m row
    100 double unders
    10 deadlifts 185/125kg
    Time cap: 7 minutes
 
SPONSORED Web
Fuel Yourself to Bigger PRs

Fuel Yourself to Bigger PRs

Here’s the cold hard truth.

If you’re slacking on your nutrition, you won’t perform at your best.

So if you’re serious about hitting new RPs, it’s time to start thinking about your diet.

Thankfully, you don’t have to think too hard–the RP Diet Coach app can do all the work for you. The app will build and guide you through a custom diet, step-by-step. All you need to do is to focus on what you do best: training.

And with the new update, you can move macros around as needed. Enjoy date night, special occasions, or shift around macros to suit you. Results and added flexibility.

RP has a special of $9.99/mo for the first 6 months with our referral.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Photo Credit: Flashlight Fitness | @flashlight.fitness

 
LOWLANDS THROWDOWN
   

The Lowlands Throwdown is off and running on day two and depending on when you are tuning in, the teams and individuals have probably already taken the floor once today.

For a full schedule and leaderboard, we’ve included quick links to access all the information below.

A few quick highlights:

  • Story of the day: Uldis Upenieks was unable to get an Uber so he biked to the arena then won event 2.
  • A family affair: Lazar and Luka Dukic enter day two in first and second place respectively. Lazar holds a 20-point lead, while Uldis Ulpenieks is close behind in third only four points behind Luka.
  • Horvath gets it done on day one: With two second place finishes on day one, including the legless rope climb event that plays to her strengths as an elite rock climber, Horvath is poised taro punch her ticket to the 2022 CrossFit Games.
  • Annie and Company run the table: With 200 points available on day one, the new super team at CrossFit Reykjavik banked them all and enter day two ready to stay in command. The only other team to go two for two on opening day, CrossFit Mayhem.

Lastly, if you missed day 1, watch our video recap.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here are the top ten individuals and teams after day 1 of competition. Check out the full leaderboard for the point spread, cutoffs and more efficiency stats.

  1. Lazar Dukic (196) | Laura Horvath (192) | CrossFit Reykjavik (200)
  2. Luka Dukic (176) | Matilde Garnes (184) | CrossFit Portti (180)
  3. Uldis Upenieks (172) | Karin Freyova (180) | CrossFit Zarautz Traiing Culture (175)
  4. Bjorgvin Karl Gudmunsson (172) | Lucy Campbell (164) | CrossFit Oslo Purple Red (170)
  5. Adrian Mudwiler (144) | Elena Carratala Sanahuja (144) | CrossFit 2150 Team Norce BL (165)
  6. Michael Smith (136) | Gabriela Migala (140) | CrossFit Caen (140)
  7. Haraldur Holgersson (132) | Sara Sigmundsdottir (136) | CrossFit Nordic (130)
  8. Enrico Zenoni (132) | Andrea Solberg (116) | Blueprint CrossFit Team AOD (105)
  9. Calum Clements (125) | Emiko Naets (106) | CrossFit 2605 Team Trinity and a Half (105)
  10. Lucas Heuze (124) | Mia Hesketh (104) | CrossFit Walleye (105)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 3:00 AM PT | 6:00 AM ET | 12:00 PM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 3 — 3:45 AM PT | 6:45 AM ET | 12:45 PM GMT+2
  • Team Event 4 — 8:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM ET | 5:00 PM GMT+2
  • Individual Event 4 — 9:45 AM PT | 12:45 AM ET | 6:45 PM GMT+2

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • Team Interval:
    3 minutes
    50 sync chest to bar pull-ups
    remainder: max reps worm “clean & jerk”
    3 minutes
    40 sync chest to bar pull-ups
    remainder: max reps worm “clean & jerk”
    3 minutes
    20 sync bar muscle-ups
    remainder: max reps worm “clean & jerk”

Individual Event 3

  • 2.5 minutes to perform:
    27 chest to bar pull-ups
    27 dumbbell thrusters 22,5/15 kg per hand
    Max reps burpee box jump overs 24/20 inch
    2 minutes to perform:
    21 chest to bar pull-ups
    21 dumbbell thrusters 22,5/15 kg per hand
    Max reps burpee box jump overs 24/20 inch
    1.5 minutes to perform:
    15 chest to bar pull-ups
    15 dumbbell thrusters 22,5/15 kg per hand
    Max reps burpee box jump overs 24/20 inch
    1 minute to perform:
    9 chest to bar pull-ups
    9 dumbbell thrusters 22,5/15 kg per hand
    Max reps burpee box jump overs 24/20 inch
    *1 min rest between segments

Team Event 4

  • Snatch Ladder
    Men: 185-195-205-215-225-235-245-255-265-275 lb.
    Women: 135-140-145-150-155-160-165-170-175-180 lb.

Individual Event 4

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 cleans + 2 front squats + 1 jerk
    (shoulder-to-overhead)
 
BY THE NUMBERS

– Dukic brothers in Games qualifying spots after day one at the CrossFit Lowlands Throwdown.

5 – Event winning streak by Tia-Clair Toomey in live events including her win in the final event of the 2021 Rogue Invitational.

2:49.04 – The new world record for the men’s 2014 Regional Workout 5, set by Ricky Garard at the Torian Pro.

11:09 – Tia-Clair Toomey’s time at the 2014 Regionals in Workout 5. On Friday she finished the workout in 3:32.54, setting a new record in the event and a 7:37 PR.

16 – Places separated Gabi Migala’s event one finish (17) and event two finish (1).

 
SYNDICATE CROWN
   

Day two at the Knoxville Civic Coliseum will start in a few hours and the individual competition is already hot and heavy with Justin Medeiros, the defending Fittest Man on Earth out to an early lead, while newcomer Gabby McClelland surprised everyone on the women’s side. To no one’s surprise, Rich Froning’s CrossFit Mayhem Freedom has a commanding lead heading into the weekend.

  • Consistency is key: Justin Medieros did what Justin Medieros does and stayed steady through day one with two fourth-place finishes including this 335 pound lift in the barbell complex. He has homerun power, but look for him to stay steady and minimize mistakes throughout the weekend.
  • Gabby who?: That’s the question everyone is asking as the newcomer is currently leading on day 1. Let’s see if she can hang on while favorites Arielle Loewen and Haley Adams seek to climb back up the leaderboard from tenth and eleventh place respectively.
  • Mayhem Freedom who?: Just kidding. We’ve officially run out of things to say about this team. They are really good. Sam Cournoyer made this 290 pound snatch look very easy.
  • The Teens dominated the lifts: Both Tudbor Magda (19) and Paulina Haro (18) tied for first in the barbell complex with 345 and 245 pound lifts. Both are Games teen athletes looking to earn their first individual spot.
  • While you’re still here, the current heaviest female snatch in the team event goes to Lex Accuar from CrossFit Evernox who hit this 200 pound lift.

And if you need a quick recap, watch this.

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Here are the top ten individuals and teams after day 1 of competition. Check out the full leaderboard for the point spread, cutoffs and more efficiency stats.

  1. Justin Medeiros (176) | Gabby McClelland (184) | CrossFit Mayhem Freedom (200)
  2. Jayson Hopper (172) | Emily White (180) | TTT CrossFit (175)
  3. Cole Greashaber (168) | Christine Kolenbrander (160) | CrossFit Nashville (160)
  4. Scott Panchik (164) | Olivia Sulek (156) | CrossFit Overtake Team Density (150)
  5. Griffin Roelle (146) | Alexis Raptis (144) | Blues City CrossFit Gold (145)
  6. Tudor Magda (134) | Paige Semenza (144) | CrossFit CLT (140)
  7. Garrett Clark (124) | Paulina Haro (140) | CrossFit Mayhem Justice (135)
  8. Will Moorad – tie (120) | Kristine Best (127) | 8th Day CrossFit Black (125)
  9. Jacob Pfaff – tie (120) | Madison McElhaney (124) | Los De La Isla CrossFit (125)
  10. James Sprague (119) | Arielle Loewen (123) | Man O’ War CrossFit (120)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 6:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM ET | 2:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 7:00 AM AM PT | 10:00 AM ET | 3:00 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 8:46 AM PT | 11:46 AM ET | 4:46 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 10:01 PM PT | 1:01 PM ET | 6:01 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • 4 Legless Rope Climbs
    20 Thrusters (135/95)
    2 Legless Rope Climbs

Individual Event 3

  • 10 rounds for time:
    1 Legless Rope Climb
    170-Foot Run

Team Event 4

  • All – 10 Worm Clean & Jerks
    M1/M2 – 20 Synchro C2B + 10 Synchro DB OHS (100/70)
    All – 10 Worm Clean & Jerks
    M1/F2 – 20 Synchro C2B + 10 Synchro DB OHS (100/70)
    All – 10 Worm Clean & Jerks
    F1/F2 – 20 Synchro C2B + 10 Synchro DB OHS (100/70)
    All – 10 Worm Clean & Jerks
    F2/M2 – 20 Synchro C2B + 10 Synchro DB OHS (100/70)

Individual Event 4

  • For time:
    10-20-30-40-50
    Concept2 SkiErg Calories
    Wall Ball Shots (20/14) to 10’ Target
    GHD Situps
    80’ Handstand Walk (40’ unbroken sections)
 
Your Coffee is ready.