Read the latest Morning Chalk Up articles on BarBend
Your Coffee is ready.

Veterans run the day at Strength in Depth

 
Morning Chalk Up

June 11   |   POWERED BY

AscentProtein_1594044041 (2)

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up Semifinals edition. Day 2 of all three of our last Semifinals are kicking off, and it’s moving day. Here’s what you need to know.

In today’s edition:

  • Gui Malheiros ran the table on Day 1 at Copa Sur
  • Veterans are in control at Strength in Depth and Sam Briggs is making a run for one final Games appearance
  • At the Atlas Games, teen Emma Lawson and newcomer Nycolas Joyal take the lead into Day 2

For a complete schedule in your local time zone, alerts, leaderboard and story download our iOS or Android app.

 
CROSSFIT ATLAS GAMES
   

Credit: @trainingdaymedia

With Day 1 in the books, we are looking ahead to Day 2 and all of the action on moving day. Full details are included below:

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition on Day 2 starts at 11:05 AM PT, but here’s the leaderboard as it stands at the end of Day 1.

  1. Nycolas Joyal (200) | Emma Lawson (196) | CrossFit PSC CrossFit Omnia Black (180)
  2. Patrick Vellner (188) | Freya Moosbrugger (180) |  CrossFit Pro1 Montreal (180)
  3. Jeffrey Adler (180) | Carolyne Prevost (180) | CrossFit Milford Team Conquer (175)
  4. Alexandre Caron (172) | Paige Powers (176) | Crossfit East Woodbridge (160)
  5.  Tyler Lee (152) | Caroline Conners (168) | CrossFit Le Repere Progfal (140)
  6. Alex Vigneault (140) | Ellie Tarence Hiller (144) | CrossFit Taranis Lifetree (135)
  7. Benoit Boulanger (136) | Alison Scudds (139) | Stadd CrossFit Fit to Prove (135)
  8. Connor Duddy (130) | Erin Vandendriessche (132) | L’Usine CrossFit Sherbrooke U Team (130)
  9. Jeremy Vigneault (128) | Elena Budz (120) | CrossFit PSC (115)
  10. Peter Mason (124) | Callista Lang (112) | CrossFit 1855 (110)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 11:05 AM PT | 2:05 PM ET | 7:05 PM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 12:05 PM PT | 3:05 PM ET  | 8:05 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 1:55 PM PT | 4:55 PM ET  | 9:55 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 4:00 PM PT | 7:00 PM ET  | 12:00 AM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For time:
    1 round each*
    21/16 Cal Ski
    15 Ring Muscle-Ups
    90ft Handstand Walk
    *Any order
    Time cap: 14 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • For time:
    30 Ring Muscle-Ups
    25 Burpees Over Box 30/24”
    15 Squat Snatches 205/145lb
    Time cap: 10 minutes

Team Event 4

  • For total weight:
    (Weight in lb.)
    Men: 185/195/205/215/225/235/245/255/265/275 (11th platform staged at 285)
    Women: 135/140/145/150/155/160/165/170/175/180 (11th platform staged at 185)

Individual Event 4

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 Cleans
    2 Front Squats
    1 Shoulder-to-Overhead
    Time cap: 15 minutes

 
SPONSORED AscentProtein_1594044041 (2)
Why Games Qualifier Brent Fikowski Chooses Plant-Based Protein

Why Games Qualifier Brent Fikowski Chooses Plant-Based Protein

After crushing The Granite Games, Ascent Athlete Brent Fikowski reached for one thing to recover – his Ascent plant-based protein.

Brent continues to choose Ascent for the last 5 years because of its clean protein sources & delicious flavors. “With Ascent, I know I’m taking in only what I need – in its purest form,” he said.

Ascent’s new vegan protein offers 25g of plant-based protein in 3 delicious flavors – chocolate, vanilla, and for this summer only chocolate peanut butter.

For a limited time, get a FREE Ascent Blender Bottle when you purchase any flavor of Ascent’s Plant Protein on ascentprotein.com.

SHOP NOW.

 
PHOTO OF THE DAY
   

Photo Credit: The Training Plan

 
CROSSFIT STRENGTH IN DEPTH
   

Credit: The Training Plan

Moving day is here at CrossFit Strength in Depth in London, England. Get caught up with Day 1 details below: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition on Day 2 started early this morning at 3:12 AM PT so there are no updates to the leaderboard. Here’s the leaderboard as it stood at the end of Day 1.

  1. Willy Georges (184) | Emma McQuaid (176) | CrossFit Oslo Navy Blue (200
  2.  Elliot Simmonds (164) | Jacqueline Dahmstrom (176) | CrossFit Sarpsborg (175)
  3. Henrik Haapalainen (160) | Thuri Helgadottir (176)  | CrossFit Aylesbury Team Tap (150)
  4. Giorgios Karavis (160) | Samantha Briggs (160) | CrossFit Trondheim (150)
  5. Ludvig Hahnsson (160) | Solveig Sigurdardottir (156) | CrossFit Mayflower (145)
  6. Guillaume Briant (156) | Nicole Heer (148) | CrossFit Nordic Original (130)
  7. Jonne Koski (156) | Elisa Fuliano (140) | North Engine CrossFit (125)
  8.  Alex Kotoulas (140) | Aimee Cringle (131) | CrossFit 8020 (125)
  9. Tommaso Pieri (132) | Katrin Davidsdottir (125) | CrossFit Katla (115)
  10. Dumain Antoine (126) | Tayla Howe (125) | CrossFit Witham (110)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Saturday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 3:12 AM PT | 6:12 AM ET  | 11:12 AM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 5:09 AM PT | 8:09 AM ET | 1:09 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 7:24 AM PT | 10:24 PM ET |  3:24 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 8:17 AM PT | 11:17 AM ET | 4:17 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For total weight:
    (Weight in kilograms)
    Men: 84/88/93/98/102/107/111/115/120/124 (11th platform staged at 129)
    Women: 61/63/65/68/70/72/75/77/79/81 (11th platform staged at 84)
    Time cap: 22 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • 3 attempts for max load of:
    3 Cleans
    2 Front Squats
    1 Shoulder-to-Overhead
    Time cap: 15 minutes

Team Event 4

  • For time:
    20 Worm Ground to Overhead
    30 Synchro Burpees
    50 Synchro Toes to Bar MF1
    20 Worm Ground to Overhead
    50 Synchro Toes to Bar MF2
    30 Synchro Burpees
    20 Worm Ground to Overhead
    Time cap: 18 minutes

Individual Event 4

  • For Time:
    50 Kettlebell Deadlifts 80/64kg
    150ft Handstand Walk*
    50 Box Jump Overs 24/20”
    75 Toes to Bar
    50 Box Jump Overs 24/20”
    150ft Handstand Walk*
    50 Kettlebell Deadlifts 80/64kg
    *25ft minimum unbroken
    Time cap: 16 minutes

 
CROSSFIT COPA SUR
   

Day 1 is in the books and moving day is here at the CrossFit Copa Sur in its inaugural year in Vitoria, Brazil. Full details are included below: 

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

The competition has already kicked off in Brazil, but if you haven’t tuned in yet, here are the top 10 seeded athletes and teams coming out of the quarterfinals.

  1. Guilherme Malheiros (200) | Andreia Pinheiro (172) | Q21 CrossFit (200)
  2. Pedro Martins (168) | Laura Gonzalez (172) | CrossFit Tuluka (170)
  3. Gustavo Errico (168) | Victoria Campos (168) | Cavaleiros CrossFit (140)
  4. Agustin Richelme (160) | Julia Kato (164) | CrossFit Ribeirao Preto (140)
  5. Lucas Da Rosa  (152) | Claudia Espinosa (156) | Kingbull CrossFit Paraguay (140)
  6. Bruno Marins (142) | Amanda Fusuma (144) | BXP CrossFit Team BXP (135)
  7. Anderon Primo (135) | Luiza Marques (128) | CrossFit Marilla CFMRLA (130)
  8. Omar Martinez (131) | Melina Rodriguez (123) | CrossFit Villa Luro (130)
  9. Joao Pedro Bardelos De Araujo (116) | Valentina Rangel (121) | CrossFit Praia Grande Team CFPG (125)
  10. Piero Gorichon (112) | Lucy Pacheco (114) | CrossFit SP (120)

Full leaderboard

Workouts, Schedule and How to Watch

Friday’s schedule of events: Below is the broadcast schedule. You can watch all events live on our content hub.

  • Team Event 3 — 4:00 AM PT | 8:00 AM GMT-3 | 12:00 PM BST
  • Team Event 3 — 5:00 AM PT | 9:00 AM GMT-3 | 1:00 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 6:55 AM PT | 10:55 AM GMT-3 | 1:55 PM BST
  • Individual Event 4 — 9:15 AM PT | 1:15 PM GMT-3 | 5:15 PM BST

Want to see the schedule in your local time zone? Our schedule will automatically update to where you are on MorningChalkUp.com, and on our iOS or Android app.

Day 2 Events

Team Event 3

  • For time, starting with the female pair:
    40 Thrusters, 95lb
    6 Legless Rope Climbs
    30 Thrusters, 95lb
    4 Legless Rope Climbs
    20 Thrusters, 95lb
    2 Legless Rope Climbs
    Immediately followed by the male pair (thrusters at 135lb).

    Time cap: 20 minutes

Team Event 4

  • For total weight:
    (Weight in kilograms)
    Men: 84/88/93/98/102/107/111/115/120/124 (11th platform staged at 129)
    Women: 61/63/65/68/70/72/75/77/79/81 (11th platform staged at 84)

    Time cap: 22 minutes

Individual Event 3

  • 3 attempts for max load:
    3 Cleans
    2 Front Squats
    1 Shoulder-to-Overhead

    Time cap: 15 minutes

Individual Event 4

  • 10 rounds for time:
    1 Legless Rope Climb, 15ft
    170ft run

    Time cap: 11 minutes

 
BY THE NUMBERS

3 – The number of women tied for first place at Strength in Depth–Emma McQuaid, Jacqueline Dahmstrom and Thuri Helgadottir.

3 – The number of teams Norway has in Games qualifying position after Day 1 at Strength in Depth.

3 – The sum if you add Emma Lawson’s 1st and 2nd place finishes on Day 1 at the Atlas Games. She takes the lead into Day 2.

3– Women are ahead of Samantha Briggs after Day 1 at Strength in Depth. They are tied at 176, Briggs carded 160.

3 – The number of times Nycolas Joyal and Patrick Vellner have been in a heads up race. According to Joyal, Vellner won the first one, but Joyal won the second two and will take the lead into Day 2 of the Atlas Games with 200 points.

 
Your Coffee is ready.